1951 prep football all-star teams

Theodore "little pump" Searle was one of the best punters of the early 1950s for Saint Louis.

ILH champion Kamehameha and runner-up Roosevelt led the way with four selections each on the Honolulu Advertiser’s ILH all-star teams in 1951.

There were no unanimous selections to the team, but Rooosevelt halfback Roy Ryder, the league scoring champion, gaining seven of the eight first-place ballots.

Kamehameha’s George Poa got the nod at quarterback, just ahead of Kaimuki’s Edward Kawawaki.

‘Iolani’s Edwin Neves, who was the ILH’s leading rusher, got the vote at fullback ahead of Punahou’s Mike McCormack.

Kamehameha’s Lester Akeo was awarded the spot at center by one vote ahead of Roosevelt’s John Simerson.

Champion Waipahu and Kahuku dominated the Rural Interscholastic All-Star team by the Advertiser. Waipahu end Raymond Rodrigues and back Irenio Ganigan and Kahuku center Daniel Landeza were unanimous selections.

For a listing of all prep football all-star teams over the years that have been posted, click here.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at Newspapers.com. To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to staradvertiser.newspapers.com are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.