Wrestling coaches Au, Nagata honored

KJ Pascua was one of four state champions from the ‘Iolani boys team in the winter. Raiders coach Walden Au was named as the National Wrestling Coaches Association coach of the year for Hawaii. Honolulu Star-Advertiser.

‘Iolani’s Walden Au and Punahou’s Maika Nagata earned distinguished honors from the the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

Au, who helped lead the Raiders boys to a second straight state championship, was named the organization’s head coach of the year for Hawaii.

‘Iolani’s boys had four individual state champions, eight second-place state finishers and nine state qualifiers. Dane Yamashiro, KJ Pascua, Kainoa Torigoe and Saiaga Fautanu were the Raiders state champs. It is Au’s second-straight year as Hawaii’s coach of the year.

Nagata was named by the NWCA as the assistant head coach of the year for Hawaii.

Roseburg (Oregon) High School head coach Steven Lander is the national coach of the year and Dixon (Ill.)’s William Eastman is the assistant coach of the year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.