Torres tops ILH baseball all-star teams

Saint Louis shortstop Keith Torres waited to field the ball at second base in a game against Kamehameha. Photo by Cindy Ellen Russell/Star-Advertiser.
Saint Louis shortstop Keith Torres waited to field the ball at second base in a game against Kamehameha. Photo by Cindy Ellen Russell/Star-Advertiser.

The Interscholastic League of Honolulu released its baseball all-star teams on Monday as voted on by league coaches. In Division I, Saint Louis shortstop Keith Torres was named most valuable player and the Crusaders’ George Gusman was coach of the year after leading Saint Louis to its first ILH title since 2011.

In Division II, Damien freshman shortstop Jordan Donahue and St. Francis’ Jarred Yara shared most valuable player honors with the Monarchs’ Timo Donahue winning coach of the year honors.

The complete all-star teams are listed below.

Most valuable player—Keith Torres, Sr, Saint Louis
Coach of the year—George Gusman, Saint Louis
C—Kai Perreira-Alquiza, Sr, Saint Louis
1B—Aaron Renaud, Sr, Saint Louis
2B—Logan Salcedo, Sr, Kamehameha
SS—Kawai Takemura, Sr, Kamehameha
3B—Charles Lopez, Jr, Saint Louis
OF—Nakea Hanohano, Sr, Kamehameha; DJ Stephens, Sr, Saint Louis; Matt Wong, Sr, Saint Louis
DH—Kalamaku Kuewa, Sr, Kamehameha
U—Matt Dunaway, Sr, Maryknoll
P—Lii Pontes, Jr, Kamehameha; Dawson Yamaguchi, Sr, Saint Louis
C—Dylan Salcedo, Sr, Kamehameha
1B—Andrew Matsueda, Sr, Punahou
2B—Dylan Pagente, Sr, Saint Louis
SS—Shaydon Kubo, So, ‘Iolani
3B—Jacob Yoshino, Jr, Mid-Pacific
OF—Matthew Inaba, Jr, ‘Iolani; Shane Sasaki, So, ‘Iolani; Cole Cabrera, Sr, Punahou
DH—Micah Yonamine, So, ‘Iolani
U—Cade Yonamine, Jr, ‘Iolani
P—Hunter Breault, Sr, Kamehameha; Chase Meilleur, Sr, Saint Louis
‘Iolani: Trevor Ichimura, Jr; Zackary Kwon, Jr.
Kamehameha: Jesse Awa, Sr; Wilhelm Cordes, Sr; Francis Gora, Sr; Chaesten Chon, Jr.
Mid-Pacific: Zachary Gushiken, Sr; Kyle Layugan, Jr; Wyatt Young, Jr.
Maryknoll: Chason Dularte, Sr; Noah Kinder, Jr; Drayden Yamauchi, Jr; Tyler Quinn, So.
Punahou: Colin Freeman, Sr; Noah Loughlin, Sr; Matt Nakamoto, Sr; Kai Terada-Herzer, Sr; Kyson Donahue, Jr; Kyle Uemura, Jr; Jake Tsukada, So.
Saint Louis: Makana Ontai, So; Hunter Peneueta, So.

Co-Most valuable players—Jordan Donahue, Fr, Damien; Jarred Yara, Sr, St. Francis
Coach of the year—Timo Donahue, Damien
C—Phillip Schuman, Sr, Damien
1B—Jayden Cabbab, Sr, Damien
2B—Brandon Miyasato, Sr, Pac-Five
SS—Kaimanuwai Akana, So, St. Francis
3B—Jacob Poole, So, St. Francis
OF—Alika Arecchi, Jr, Damien; Masoni Kim, Jr, Damien; Nicholas Goss, Sr, Pac-Five
DH—Shiloh Kaeo, Jr, Damien; Stephen Perry, So, St. Francis
U—Reece Kadota, Fr, St. Francis
P—Javin Cortez, Sr, Damien; Canaan Fernandez, Jr, Pac-Five
C—Ethan Suga, Jr, Pac-Five
1B—Shawn Ellis, Sr, St. Francis
2B—Kaysen Kajiwara, So, Damien
SS—Zane Oshiro, Jr, Pac-Five
3B—Kaimana Cameron, Jr, Damien
OF—Grayson Bueno, Sr, Damien; Lawrence Carvalho, Sr, Pac-Five; John Paul Tilley, So, St. Francis
U—Chad Wakabayashi, Sr, Hanalani
P—Makoa Paresa, Sr, Pac-Five; Zach Alcos, Jr, St. Francis
Damien: Milton Gainey III, Jr; Paul Mezurashi, Jr.
Hanalani: Maxwell Ares, Sr; Nicklaus Garcia-Reid, Sr; Louis Holt, Fr.
Pac-Five: Ryan Moritsugu, Jr; Scott Wong, Jr.
St. Francis: James Yamasaki, So; Chase Akana, Fr.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email