State judo medalists, 2003-present

Jordan Ng is looking to make up for a loss at states last year. Krystle Marcellus / Star-Advertiser
Jordan Ng is looking to make up for a loss at states last year. Krystle Marcellus / Star-Advertiser

Jordan Ng of Iolani and Mid-Pacific’s Cole Chandler will be trying to make up for lost time at today’s HHSAA judo championships at the Stan Sheriff Center.

Both judoka will be going for their third state titles as seniors, knowing how close they were to going to No. 4.

Here is a complete history of state medal winners:

Ng won in his freshman and sophomore years but suffered an upset to Kapolei’s Andre Pagurayan in the semifinals last year. Chandler missed out on the slam for a reason that didn’t come on the mat; He sat out a year after transferring into the ILH from Kaiser. His first title came as a Cougar.

Kamehameha’s Jaclyn Fontanilla will be going for her third state title as a junior on the girls side, but fellow reigning state champion Kari Okubo of Aiea is in the 154-pound bracket with her this year.

Kaylin Castro of Mililani and Roosevelt’s Kristen Kojima will both be going for a second title at 115 pounds after losing last year. Other girls looking to repeat are Jackie Agena of Moanalua at 98, Haylie Shinsato of Mililani at 122 and Sabrina Hollins of Waipahu at 220. Kamehameha’s Teshya Alo would be going for her second, but the ILH champ will miss the tournament in favor of a wrestling event.

Boys going for their second title are Weston Kogachi of Punahou at 114, Cole Kido of Campbell at 132 and Moanalua’s Zorich Palimo’o at 198 pounds.

4 time champ
Brady Lafortune, Moanalua
Christian Pavo, Pearl City
Dane Pestano, Kamehameha
Josh Terao, Mid-Pacific
David Terao, Mid-Pacific

3 time champ
Brendan Chang, Maryknoll (loss was third)
Daniel Chow, Punahou (third)
Michael Fujiuchi, McKinley (fourth)
Reid Oshiro, Punahou (second)
Arnold Toriumi, Punahou

3 time runner up (*state champ)
Derron Maki, Moanalua*
Jonah Hoshino, Kamehameha
Jordan Ogata, Mililani*
Logan Bucsit, Farrington

4 time
Brittany Balanay, McKinley (11)
Mindy Chow, Punahou (12)
Chrissy Chow, Punahou (11)
Taylor Ibera, Farrington (09)
Bree Rapoza, Kamehameha (13)
Lianne Tomishima, McKinley (07)

3 time
Tani Ader, Farrington (2nd)
Tabitha Lum, Maryknoll
Risha Mishima, Hawaii Baptist (2nd)
Sanoe Spencer, Pearl City (2nd)

State champs
Punahou 16 (54 placers)
Kamehameha 14 (47 placers)
McKinley 12 (46 placers)
Kahuku 9 (41 placers)
Pearl City 9 (93 placers)
Farrington 8 (37 placers)
Iolani, 8 (33 placers)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email