Roxie Umu, Kobby Faeldonea earn BIIF slams

Kealakehe's Roxie Umu, right, earned the shutout over Baldwin's Sierra Vida to win the girls 184-pound final last year. Photo by Dennis Oda/Star-Advertiser.

It was more than a slam on Saturday, it was a double slam.

Kealakehe’s Roxie Umu picked up her fourth BIIF title on Saturday at Keaau. Teammate Kobby Faeldonea did the same on the boys side. The Waveriders swept the team titles.

Umu’s triumph is the first in school history. She joins Kayla Araki (2017) and Megan Aina (2012) of Kamehameha-Hawaii and Konawaena’s Alex Aoki (2010) are the only other girls to earn the slam. Those three combined for 10 medals at the state tournament, but only Aina has risen to the top step. Umu has already been there, looking for her fourth medal and second state title after beating Baldwin’s Sierra Vida for the crown at 184 pounds last year.

Faeldonea is the first Waverider to complete the slam in the last quarter century, joining Justin Hirae of Kamehameha-Hawaii (2011), Richie Mitchell of Honokaa (2007), Dylan Rush of Konawaena (2006) and Hilo’s Johanson Quist (2005).

Faelodonea has never won a state tournament, taking fifth at 113 pounds last year. But the BIIF slam is hardly an indicator of state success, as Rush won three and Quist took two but Hirae and Mitchell both fell short.

Other boys to repeat as BIIF champions were Caleb Shimaoka of Waiakea (126), Waylon Spain of Waiakea (132), Hilo’s Elijah Apao (138), Kamalu Anahu of KS-Hawaii (145), and Kealakehe’s Anthony Gopaul (195), Malosi Abraham (220) and Setu Vole (285).

Big Island boys to break through and earn a trip to states with a seeded berth in their pocket were Aiden Shikuma (106) and Brayden Spain (113) of Waiakea, Hilo’s Hana Kahookaulana (152), Keaau’s Emelio Acia (160), Dean Miura of Waiakea (170) and KS-Hawaii’s Thaze Gomes (182).

The girls side had a familiar feel to last year, with nine of 14 champions repeating. In addition to Umu, fellow state champion Kapoina Bailey of Konawaena repeated at 168 pounds. Other repeat champions were Liliana Campbell (97) and Taylia Lee (102) of Hilo, KS-Hawaii’s Ashley Falces (107), Kiki Motto (112), Theya Caceres (122), Kuuipo Chan (127) and Kanani Chan (132).

Pua Louis (117) and Kira Spencer (155) of Kealakehe (117), Hilo’s Kitana Lowery (138), Leona Toldedo (225) and Tia Laeo (145) all broke through with their first titles.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email