Punahou’s Dominic Gusman, Treyden Buder-Nakasone lead ILH soccer all-star selections

Punahou senior Dominic Gusman was named offensive MVP in the ILH in Division I. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

Punahou’s Dominic Gusman and Treyden Buder-Nakasone are the players of the year in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu Division I boys soccer as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Gusman is the offensive MVP and Buder-Nakasone is the defensive MVP. Meanwhile, Kamehameha’s Uri Barron-Silva was picked as the D-I coach of the year.

In D-II, the big award winners are Le Jardin’s Aiden Spagnoli as the offensive MVP, Damien’s Christian Souza as the defensive MVP, and Pac-Five’s Robert Smock as coach of the year.

Here are the full ILH all-star teams.

Division I

Offensive most valuable player–Dominic Gusman, Sr., Punahou
Defensive most valuable player–Treyden Buder-Nakasone, Sr., Punahou
Coach of the year: Uri Barron-Silva, Kamehameha
GK–Isaak Tanaka, So., ‘Iolani; William Nagel, Jr., Punahou
F–Luke Hamacon, Sr. Kamehameha; Kysen Terukina, Sr., Kamehameha; Liam Nichols-Shipley, Sr., Punahou; Nathan Daehler, So., Punahou.
MF–Frederik Mareels, Sr., ‘Iolani; Jonah Kawamura, Jr., ‘Iolani; Johnnie Dodge, Sr., Punahou; Jacob Moore, Sr., Punahou.
FB–Jacob Lee, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kaimakani Ulansey, Sr., Kamehameha; Tycen Santos, Sr., Punahou; Rayden Daijo, Jr., Punahou.
GK–Beau Yasui, Jr., Kamehameha.
F–Wailoa Manuel, Jr., ‘Iolani, Raine Fujimura, Fr., ‘Iolani; Jihyoung Do, Sr., Mid-Pacific; Declan Horio, Fr., Punahou.
MF–Micah Kim-Bustillos, Jr., ‘Iolani; Ethan Apo, So., Kamehameha; Kaeo Wongbusarakum, Sr. Punahou; Noah Edwards, Jr., Punahou.
FB–Braden Nihei, Sr., ‘Iolani; Branson Suzuki, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kilinahe Waring, So., Kamehameha; Laakeaikamalu Salvan, So., Punahou.
‘Iolani: Evan Georgia, Jr.; Zachary Jordan Gaoiran, So.
Kamehameha: Joshua Lee, Jr.; Simon Mau, Jr.; Kade Yasui, Jr.; Elijah Soon, So.
Mid-Pacific: Senin Hyun, Sr.; Brennan Kimura, Sr.; Kai Kinvig, Sr.; Milan Uncanin, Jr.; Akira Robertson-Chambers, Fr.


Offensive most valuable player–Aiden Spagnoli, Sr., Le Jardin
Defensive most valuable player–Christian Souza, Sr., Damien
Coach of the year–Robert Smock, Pac-Five
GK–Lucca Tommasino, So., Pac-Five.
F–David Kurihara, Sr., Pac-Five; Max Albano, Jr., Pac-Five; Jonathan Miyasato, Jr., Pac-Five; Josiah Valentin, Jr., Pac-Five.
MF–Liam White, Fr., Le Jardin; Hyugo Robinson, Jr., Pac-Five; Alexander Waller, Jr., Pac-Five; Tyler Wong, So., Pac-Five.
FB–Cole Ewalt, Jr., Le Jardin; Ethan Ferry, Sr., Pac-Five; Kyle McCarthy, Sr., Pac-Five; Mathew Sakamoto, Jr., Saint Louis.
GK–Mikkel Henningsen, Jr., Le Jardin.
F–Campbell Hess, So., Le Jardin; Keenan Ramanial, Fr., Le Jardin.
MF–Shawn Caraang, So., Damien; Kayden Ong, So., Damien; Kalei Hironaka, Sr., Pac-Five.
FB–Tyler Ancheta, Sr., Damien; Christian Ronquilio, So., Damien; Lukas Hecker, Jr., Pac-Five; Trevor Yamauchi, Jr., Pac-Five.
Le Jardin: J. Wade Springs, So.
Saint Louis: Joshua Alcisto, So.; Lason Napuunoa, So.


  1. ILH February 28, 2020 1:48 pm

    Treydan Buder-Nakasone is from Punahou not Kamehameha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.