Pac-Five freshman sets record at ILH swimming

Pac-Five freshman Grace Monahan set an ILH record in the 200 individual medley on Saturday. Photo by Jerry Campany/Star-Advertiser.

Punahou swept the boys and girls teams titles at the ILH Swimming and Diving Championships on Saturday, but the only record-breaking performance was by a freshman from Pac-Five.

Grace Monahan won the 200-yard individual medley in 2 minutes, 2.02 seconds, breaking Jasmine Mau’s league record set in 2013.

Monahan beat Kamehameha senior Jamy Lum, the defending league champion in the event, by more than six seconds.

Monahan won both events she competed in. Her time of 54.82 seconds in the 100 butterfly final was good enough for first place ahead of Punahou junior Kyrie Sasaki.

The Wolfpack were the toughest challenge for the Buffanblu in the girls race with Punahou winning 175 to 123 despite failing to win a single swimming event.

The Buffanblu boys team finished with 179 points ahead of second-place Kamehameha’s 98.

Lum came back to win the 100 breaststroke for the fifth gold medal of her career, and teammate Shaye Story, a sophomore, won the 200 and 500 freestyle events.

Pac-Five won the most events on the girls side with Monahan’s teammate, junior Rose Garcia, winning both the 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle.

Punahou senior Tyler Kawakami picked up four gold medals to give him eight for his career.

Kawakami repeated in the 50 freestyle and won the 100 freestyle in 46.01 seconds, slipping past Pac-Five senior Denison Piosalan.

Piosalan finished second in the 50 free and 100 free and did not compete in the longer distance events, including the 500 freestyle, which he had won each of the last two years.

Mid-Pacific senior Michael Petrides, the defending champion in the 100 free, won the 500 free and 200 individual medley events to give him six career gold medals.

Kamehameha senior Jaek Horner also won two individual events, winning the 100 breaststroke for the second straight year and the 100 backstroke.



  1. Tammy E January 28, 2019 5:21 am

    Also wanted to give a shout out to the Kamehameha boys 200 IM Relay team ( Jr Devin Alejado, Sr Jaek Horner, Sr Kanoa Sawai, and Jr Noa Copp) setting a new ILH Record of 1:34.45 breaking it by to seconds (1:36.41) set in 2017.

    Congrats to all the swimmers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email