OIA Divisional judo results

Kapolei's Anthony Brett and Moanalua's Chase Wusstig won their respective divisions at OIA Divisional championships on Saturday. Krystle Marcellus / Star-Advertiser
Kapolei’s Anthony Brett and Moanalua’s Chase Wusstig won their respective divisions at OIA Divisional championships on Saturday. Krystle Marcellus / Star-Advertiser

Moanalua has the lightweights, and Kalani has the middleweights and Kahuku has the big boys.

Na Menehune and the Falcons split the OIA Eastern Division championships on Saturday, with each school crowning three boys champions.

Moanalua got wins from Logan Garcia at 108 pounds, Noah Wusstig at 121 and Chase Wusstig at 132. Kalani got titles out of Jared Kaneko (161), Micah Tateyama (145) and Kailer Okura (198). Kahuku swept the two heaviest weights with Lerod Tongi at 220 pounds and Lennex Alo at 285.


Kapolei dominated the West tournament, getting four champions while no other school had more than two.

Andre Pagurayan, Anthony Brett, Rodman Salagdron and Aaron Satoa were the champions for the Hurricanes, with all but Satoa seeded first. Baylen Cooper and Kainala Kaohe doubled up with titles for Pearl City. Aaron Nunez won for Waialua, Brandon Burgos climbed to the top step for Aiea and Andy Vong won at 108 pounds for Campbell. Mililani’s Cody Tallman walked into the championship at 121 pounds.


Moanalua and Roosevelt split the girls competition with four golds each.

Amanda Higa, Sienna Ho, Faith Joy Okubo and Kyrah Hughley won for Na Menehune while the Rough Riders got golds from Menjam Tamang, Macy Higa, Haylee Fujioka and Kaylah Samia. Phoebe Pineda-Abaya of Kalani and Saelor Taumua of Kahuku were the other winners.


Pearl City’s girls had the most dominant performance of the day, winning six of 10 weight classes.

Mikayla Abe won at 109 pounds and Netanya Kang took the title at 122 pounds before Sarah Kaaiakamanu, Nina Seoane, Jackie Fuamatu and Jenine Fuamatu swept the heavier weights.

The only other winners were Trinty Mateo and Summer Carras of Kapolei, Nicolle Nishimura of Aiea and Mayu Wise of Mililani.



  1. Talloola April 24, 2016 6:34 am

    What happened at 121 for West boys? It says Jayson Pagurayan got 3rd and no one got 2nd?

  2. Brian April 24, 2016 7:18 am

    Paguryan lost to pearl city then later beat pearl city. Mililani got thrown on his head by leileihua and they dqd leileihua. That’s how Mililani got 1st

  3. Marc April 24, 2016 8:07 am

    He went flying✈️

  4. Sensei April 27, 2016 9:49 pm

    OIA brackets ?

  5. Judofan April 24, 2017 1:53 pm

    Any results from 2017 oia west/east?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.