OIA baseball playoffs begin Wednesday

Defending OIA champion Mililani won the tiebreaker over Campbell to earn the No. 1 seed in this year's OIA tournament. Photo by Steven Erler/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

After finishing tied for first in the OIA West at 10-2, defending league champion Mililani earned the tiebreaker over Campbell to serve as the top seed entering Wednesday’s OIA baseball playoffs.

Kailua, which has won three of the last seven OIA titles, and Kaiser earned the top two seeds out of the East.

Waipahu and Radford are the top two seeds and earned byes in the six-team Division II tournament that begins Thursday.

The Sabers and Trojans, who are tied for the No. 5 spot in this week’s Honolulu Star-Advertiser Baseball Top 10, are the only two teams ranked from the OIA.

The complete schedule is below.

OIA Playoffs

Updated: Apr. 27
First round
4/24(E4) Castle(W5) KapoleiCast, 5-1
4/24(W3) Aiea(E6) MoanaluaMoan, 8-2
4/24(E3) Farrington*(W6) WaianaeFar, 12-1 (5)
4/24(W4) Leilehua(E5) RooseveltLei, 17-7
4/25(W1) MililaniCastleMil, 7-1
4/25(E2) KaiserMoanaluaKais, 4-3
4/25(W2) CampbellFarringtonCamp, 3-0
4/25(E1) Kailua**LeilehuaKail, 11-1 (5)
Consolation semis
4/26FarringtonLeilehuaLei, 5-4
4/26CastleMoanaluaCast, 5-0
Semifinals—@ Les Murakami Stadium
4/26CampbellKailuaCamp, 6-5
4/26MililaniKaiserMil, 4-3 (11)
Fifth place
4/27LeilehuaCastle1 p.m.
Third place
4/27KailuaKaiserKail, 13-7
Championship—at Les Murakami Stadium
4/27CampbellMililaniMil, 3-2
4/25McKinleyWaialuaWail, 11-6
4/25KaimukiKalaheoKaim, 6-3
4/26WaipahuWaialuaWaip, 8-1
4/26RadfordKaimukiRad, 10-0 (5)
Championship—at Les Murakami Stadium
4/27WaipahuRadfordRad, 14-2 (5)
* — @ DeSa Field
** — @ TBA


  1. Falcon Future April 22, 2019 2:57 pm

    Pearl City and Kalani are the only teams that didn’t qualify for the playoffs and gotta move down to D2. I bet nobody saw that coming. I’m sad.

  2. Hmmm. April 23, 2019 2:17 am

    PC and Falcons have to ask teams in D2 if they want to come up before they can go down, I believe..,

  3. Falcon Future April 23, 2019 8:46 am

    Its not up to PC and Kalani, it’s the OIA rules. Last place D1 team goes down, first place D2 team moves up. The only way for a last place D1 team to stay up the next year is if a D2 team declines to move up.

    I already know that Waipahu will accept D1 and that means PC goes down to D2 for the West. Kalani still has a chance because Kaimuki is undecided in the East. They waiting to see if they make it to D2 states.

  4. Real Deal April 23, 2019 12:05 pm

    Supposed to be 2 yr thing but after every year a D1 team can go down if a D2 team wants to go up. Semantics

  5. Earle April 23, 2019 3:55 pm

    How many players from power teams have players that have transferred from weaker teams and no longer have to sit out a year? This rule is hurting high school sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.