Moanalua picks 4 athletes of the year

Lia Gaogao is one of four most outstanding athletes of 2014-15. Dennis Oda / Star-Advertiser
Lia Gaogao is one of four most outstanding athletes of 2014-15. Dennis Oda / Star-Advertiser

Two boys and two girls were chosen as Moanalua’s outstanding athletes of 2014-15.

Volleyball and football player Karson Cruz and judoka and wrestler Zorich Palimo‘o earned awards as Na Menehune’s outstanding male athletes.

Volleyball player Lia Gaogao and sprinter Kathleen Funcheon won awards as the school’s outstanding female athletes.

Moanalua’s athletic award winners are listed below.

Male Most Outstanding Athletes
>> Karson Cruz
>> Zorich Palimo‘o

Female Most Outstanding Athletes
>> Lia Gaogao
>> Kathleen Funcheon

Moanalua High School Hall of Fame
>> Chevy Tabiola-Felecilda
>> Karson Cruz
>> Lia Gaogao
>> Kulana Salera
>> Zorich Palimo‘o
>> Jason Sharsh
>> Eric Miyauchi
>> Kyrie McRaven
>> Jackie Agena
>> Kathleen Funcheon

Male Most Inspirational Athletes
>> Primo Mateo
>> Zorich Palimo‘o

Female most inspirational athlete
>> Joy Kurosawa

Male Scholar-Athlete
>> Cody Azuma

Female Scholar Athlete
>> Joelle Nitta

True Character Award
>> Eric Miyauchi

Oceanic Scholarship ($1,000)
>> Karson Cruz
>> Lia Gaogao

Booster Club Scholarships
>> Skyena Antolin ($500)
>> Joelle Nitta ($450)
>> Joy Kurosawa ($400)
>> Cody Azuma (($350)
>> Karly Pagtulingan ($300)
>> Josie Rapacz ($300)
>> Zachary Baughn ($300)
>> Antonio Bonnetty ($250)
>> Dane Nishimura ($250)

Zach Manago Memorial Scholarship
>> Eric Miyauchi ($500)

Roy Ito Memorial Scholarship
>> Zorich Palimo‘o

Boys Volleyball Scholarship ($500)
>> Karson Cruz

Oceanic Athletic Training Student Service Award ($250)
>> Karly Pagtulingan

Oceanic Athletic Director’s Impact Player Award
>> Rell Koizumi

Most outstanding
>> Boys air riflery: Matthew Pag
>> Girls air riflery: Joelle Nitta
>> Boys bowling: Jaren Apana
>> Girls bowling: Tyra Sanchez
>> Cheerleading: Anuhea Keane
>> Boys cross country: Eric Miayauchi
>> Girls cross country: Brandi Ogawa
>> Football: Jason Sharsh
>> Boys soft tennis: Isaiah Luczak
>> Girls soft tennis: Kaori Murakawa
>> Girls volleyball: Lia Gaogao, Johanna Kruize
>> Boys basketball: Kyrie McRaven
>> Girls basketball: Sienna Ho
>> Boys paddling: Primo Mateo
>> Girls paddling: Amber Espiritu, Jessica Fontanilla
>> Boys soccer: Tyler Morton
>> Girls soccer: Haley Graham, Dior Motas
>> Boys swimming: Christian Nishimura
>> Girls swimming: Aimee Iwamoto
>> Boys wrestling: Kulana Salerea, Spencer Yashiki
>> Girls wrestling: Amanda Higa
>> Baseball: Tanner Inouye, Adam Tanoue
>> Boys golf: Shawn Lu, Kyosuke Hara
>> Girls golf: Randi Kim
>> Boys judo: Zorich Palimo‘o
>> Girls judo: Sienna Ho
>> Softball: Taylor Takushi, Summer Kamioka
>> Boys tennis: Peter Ho
>> Girls tennis: Bailee Kawamura
>> Boys track: Eric Miyauchi
>> Girls track: Carly Dailey, Kathleen Funcheon
>> Boys volleyball: Austin Matautia, Karson Cruz
>> Girls water polo: Rell Koizumi

Most inspirational
>> Boys air riflery: David Enriquez, Mackenzie Tokuda
>> Girls air riflery: Joelle Nitta
>> Boys bowling: Joshua Wong, Wesley Hadano
>> Girls bowling: Taryn Sugimoto
>> Cheerleading: Marissa Tomasu
>> Boys cross country: Anthony Wolfe
>> Girls cross country: Haley Kunimura
>> Football: Primo Mateo
>> Boys soft tennis: Isaiah Luczak
>> Girls soft tennis: Kathryn Agdeppa
>> Girls volleyball: Joy Kurosawa
>> Boys basketball: Jacob Matayoshi
>> Girls basketball: Breana Padua
>> Boys paddling: Parker Lui
>> Girls paddling: Leiala Okuda
>> Boys soccer: Blake Tom
>> Girls soccer: Katelyn Sasaki
>> Boys swimming: Tyler Tse, Scott Pak
>> Girls swimming: Jessica Luong
>> Boys wrestling: Zorich Palimo‘o
>> Girls wrestling: Angeliq Kane
>> Baseball: Dane Nishimura
>> Boys golf: Joseph Vallespin
>> Boys judo: Shon Aragon
>> Girls judo: Jackie Agena
>> Softball: Britney Lee-Saiki
>> Boys tennis: Jin Sung Lee
>> Girls tennis: Cheyanne Andaya
>> Girls track: Carly Dailey
>> Boys volleyball: Garrison Gabriel
>> Girls water polo: Lian Don

Scholar-athlete awards
>> Boys air riflery: Noah Hirayama
>> Girls air riflery: Veronica Perez
>> Boys bowling: Zachary Kagehiro
>> Girls bowling: Emiley Hadano
>> Cheerleading: Tawny Motoyama
>> Boys cross country: Alexander Goetz
>> Girls cross country: Trisha Nagasawa
>> Football: Aaron Yoshida
>> Boys soft tennis: Justin Yip, Nicholas Van
>> Girls soft tennis: Shirying Tay, Carol Lu
>> Girls volleyball: Katy Ehnstrom
>> Boys basketball: Domenick Bailey
>> Girls basketball: Mackenna McCue
>> Boys paddling: Terrence Pascua
>> Girls paddling: Tieri Chun
>> Boys soccer: Tyler Yada
>> Girls soccer: Rache Inabata
>> Boys swimming: Scott Pak
>> Girls swimming: Kate Greathouse
>> Boys wrestling: Eugene Chung
>> Girls wrestling: Khaitlin Bernaldez
>> Baseball: Kaz Tachino
>> Boys golf: Kaylan Ha
>> Girls golf: Isabella Lesa
>> Boys judo: Ritchie Wong
>> Girls judo: Amanda Higa
>> Softball: Jordan Snow
>> Boys tennis: Justin Li
>> Girls tennis: Miki Den Beste
>> Boys track: Blayde Biacan
>> Girls track: Brandi Ogawa
>> Boys volleyball: Bryson Chan
>> Girls water polo: Madeline Snow


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email