Moanalua continues OIA golf dominance

Jun Ho Won is the latest in a long line of champions from Moanalua. Craig T. Kojima / Star-Advertiser
Jun Ho Won is the latest in a long line of champions from Moanalua. Craig T. Kojima / Star-Advertiser

A decade of dominance.

The Moanalua boys golf team won its 10th straight OIA championship on Tuesday at Turtle Bay, crowning its fourth straight individual champion.

Jun Ho Won is the latest recipient for Na Menehune, outlasting teammates Kyosuke Hara and Shawn Lu. Hara took the title last year with Brent Grant winning the year before that. John Oda won in 2012 and 2013.

Moanalua has had a boy finish first or second every year during the streak except in 2008 when Christian Agosta led the team with a sixth-place finish. It was still enough to beat Pearl City for the team title.

It’s not just the players who have changed during the run, as Na Menehune can count four different head coaches during the span. Jon Radtke led the squad this year after Gordon Yuen raised the trophy the five previous years. Before that, Joey Castillo (2010), Charvis Bush (2009) and Joshua Suapaia (2007-08) were listed as the head coach.

The OIA success has not always translated into state glory, though, as Na Menehune took the HHSAA title only once during their run when two-time state champ John Oda led them to glory in 2012.

ILH schools have won every other HHSAA golf title. This year’s tournament is May 4-5 on Kauai.

Moanalua’s best OIA finishers in the last 10 years:
2016: Jun Ho Won by a stroke over Kyosuke Hara
2015: Kyosuke Hara by two strokes over Caleb Keohokapu of Kailua
2014: Brent Grant by three strokes over Kyosuke Hara
2013: John Oda by a stroke over Colby Takushi of Pearl City
2012: John Oda by four strokes over Ryan Kuriwa of Aiea
2011: Ryan Kuroiwa of Aiea by two strokes over Tyler Ota.
2010: Tyler Ota by two strokes over Ryan Kuroiwa of Aiea.
2009: Tyler Ota by three strokes over Rudy Cabalar of Campbell
2008: Christian Agosta finishes sixth, Aiea’s Bryson Watabu beats Nick Kim of Kaiser in a playoff.
2007: Tyler Shimomura finishes second to Campbell’s Haku Maluenda by eight strokes.

Tadd Fujikawa shared an OIA title with Kaimuki’s Chan Kim the year before Na Menehune’s team streak began, but Moanalua finished second to Kahuku.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email