Mira Costa back in Kang field

Mira Costa has challenged a lot of Hawaii volleyball players at the Ann Kang volleyball tournament over the years, including Kalani's Tamari Miyashiro in 2004.

Last year, Punahou went undefeated in the Ann Kang tournament to begin the season and used that momentum to capture the state crown against Kamehameha. The Buffanblu are in the tournament again beginning Thursday at ‘Iolani, but they might have a tougher time repeating.

Mira Costa, which has won the tournament five times since it began in 1989, is in the field for the first time since 2010 and has been lumped in Punahou’s pool for Thursday. The teams play at 1 p.m. at the lower gym.

Here is the rest of Thursday’s schedule. The tournament also runs all day Friday and the championship is scheduled for Saturday at 4 p.m.

  • 8 a.m.: Punahou vs. Seabury Hall, Huntington Beach vs. Sage Hill
  • 9 a.m.: Mira Costa vs. Iolani2, Moanalua vs. Hawaii Baptist
  • 10 a.m.: Punahou vs. Iolani2, Huntington Beach vs. Hawaii Baptist
  • 11 a.m.: Mira Costa vs. Seabury Hall, Moanalua vs. Sage Hill.
  • noon: Seabury Hall vs. Iolani2, Sage Hill vs. Hawaii Baptist
  • 1 p.m.: Punahou vs. Mira Costa, Huntington Beach vs. Moanalua
  • 3 p.m.: Long Beach Poly vs. St. Joseph’s, Mater Dei vs. Mid-Pacific
  • 4 p.m.: Iolani vs. Kalani, Windward vs. Mililani
  • 5 p.m.: Long Beach Poly vs. Kalani, Mater Dei vs. Mililani
  • 6 p.m.: Iolani vs. St. Joseph’s, Windward vs. Mid-Pacific
  • 7 p.m.: St. Joseph’s vs. Kalani, Mid-Pacific vs. Mililani
  • 8 p.m.: Long Beach Poly vs. Iolani, Mater Dei vs. Windward

Past champions:

  • 2012: Punahou
  • 2011: Edison (Calif.)
  • 2010: Chung Shan (Taiwan)
  • 2009: Redondo Union (Calif.)
  • 2008: Mira Costa (Calif.)
  • 2007: Kamehameha
  • 2006: Mira Costa (Calif.)
  • 2005: Los Alamitos (Calif.)
  • 2004: Mira Costa (Calif.)
  • 2003: Mira Costa (Calif.)
  • 2002: Mira Costa (Calif.)
  • 2001: Harvard-Westlake (Calif.)
  • 2000: Harvard-Westlake (Calif.)
  • 1999: Newport Harbor (Calif.)
  • 1998: Newport Harbor (Calif.)
  • 1997: Pearl City
  • 1996: Punahou
  • 1995: Farrington
  • 1994: University
  • 1993: Harbor (Calif.)
  • 1992: Kamehameha
  • 1991: McKinley
  • 1990: University
  • 1989: Torrey Pines (Calif.)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.