LIVE BLOG: State track and field trials

Trials have begun on the Kamehameha campus. No  wind, but it is threatening to drizzle.
Trials have begun on the Kamehameha campus. No wind, but it is threatening to drizzle.

Meet is over, come back tomorrow for more pictures and Dave Reardon’s live blog.

Dakota Grossman is still cruising along, taking fourth here in 11:01.30, second in her heat to another teammate. Kristiana Van Pernis of Hawaii Prep is the top qualifier at 10:53.99, her best time of the year. Thunder Frost of Kealakehe won the boys race over Keao Kruse with a time of 9:26.39. Frost came from out of nowhere, he was the 12th ranked runner in the event coming in, to beat a stacked field.

Lauran Dignam’s record of 25.04 is safe for another day. Diamond Briscoe ran a 25.22 to win her heat easily and Seabury Hall’s Alyssa Bettendorf covered the distance in 25.59. Both of them have bettered Dignam’s mark this year. Dylan Kane of Kamehameha has doubled in the trials, running a 22.2 to beat Drew Kobayashi of Saint Louis (22.88). Randolph Braum, the favorite, ran a 22.40 to finish fourth. He has a 22.18 this year.

Long jump
Kaitlin Smith of Baldwin is the top qualifier with a 17-5.25.

Connor Lehl of Punahou ran a 2:00.99 to win this event, another one that Kruse did not compete in despite having the second-fastest time this year. Phoebe Kirk of Sacred Hearts, a sophomore, slogged through a 2:24.33 to win the 800. Seabury Hall’s Dakota Grossman was fourth.

300 hurdles
Iolani’s Lindsey Combs beat Emma Taylor of Hawaii Prep for the top spot with a 45.23, beating Taylor’s 45.40 earlier this year. Taylor ran a 46.52 to place third. Talia Webster of Radford was third. Griffin Saunders of Punahou qualified ahead of Kalani’s Raymond Alves, running a 39.03 for his fastest time this year. Alves ran 39.32, his fastest time of the year as well.

Diamond Briscoe of Pearl City dominated her heat with a 56.49. Endia Abrante’s record is safe, but Briscoe was flying. Alyssa Bettendorf took third. Maya Reynolds of Kihei was second at 57.53. Daniel Pietsch defended his top spot in the event, running a 49.78.

Campbell’s girls are poised to break the record, running a 49.64 to win their heat. It will have to be a lot faster tomorrow if it wants to take Radford’s mark of 48.34 in 2010. The King Kekaulike boys trailed throughout their race, but Braun kicked it into high gear on the anchor leg to win easily. He was flying. King Kekaulike credited with a time of 43.53 to place them third. Kamehameha-Kapalama takes the top spot at 43.22, their fastest time of the year.

King Kekaulike trailed throughout its race in the 4x100 but made it up on the anchor leg.
King Kekaulike trailed throughout its race in the 4×100 but made it up on the anchor leg.

Shot put
Kamehameha-Maui’s Kaunaone Vanderpoel sweeps the throwing, winning this in 52-045.

Long jump
Ricky Casco of Baldwin goes from No. 8 to the top with a jump of 21-04, almost three inches over his best this year.

Dave Reardon is here and he says Kaeo Kruse of Kamehameha is scratching out of the 1,500 in order to win the 3,000. Dakota Grossman is second in the girls race, running a 5:01.40 in the rain. She didn’t mind losing, though, as sophomore teammate Ally Smith took the honors with a time of 5:01.10. Kruse did indeed scratch, handing the top spot to Waiakea sophomore Louie Ondo and his time of 4:12.66, five seconds slower than his best. Punahou’s Jac Hebert was fourth and Kamehameha’s Davis Kaahanui was sixth. Kruse’s best time this year was 4:02.49.

Qualifying for the boys discus has finished, your top performer is Kauanoe Vanderpoel of Kamehameha-Maui with a spin of 152-7. His season best was 159-11. Isi Holani of Hilo came in expected to win, but qualified second. Kahoa Mikaele of Kailua defended her top seed, throwing a 141-03 to beat Kekahiliokalani Novikoff by 10 feet.

Hawaii Prep's Emma Taylor.
Hawaii Prep’s Emma Taylor.

100 hurdles
Hawaii Prep sophomore Emma Taylor cruised to win the first heat of the 100 hurdles, but the louder cheers came in the next two heats with girls racing for a spot in tomorrow’s field. Taylor looks like a lock for her second straight state crown, halfway to four. Taylor’s official time was 15.14, better than anyone else’s season best. Taylor’s best this year was 15.08.
Raymond Alves of Kalani won his heat, but he was pushed by Kapolei’s Travis Anderson the whole way. They turned and congratulated each other immediately after finishing, it’s as if Alves knows he needs a push. It didn’t help him get the top spot, though, junior Emerson Liburd of Lahainaluna ran a 14.86 in the second heat to take it. His best this season was 15.04, Alves’ was 14.83. Alves ran a 15.01 today.

King Kekaulike’s Randolph Braun dusted his heat in the rain, running a 10.3 on the scoreboard clock, which is very official. He was faster than everyone else, but he didn’t look nearly that fast. The record is 10.8 by Shane Victorino. The winner of the second heat was 10.6 on the scoreboard clock. Dylan Kane of Kamehameha had the top official time for the boys at 11.05, so we know where the scoreboard clock stands. Kane came into the meet at the 12th fastest in the state at 11.22. Braun finished third at 11.16, behind Thomas Leong of Kaiser at 11.14.

Alyssa Bettendorf of Seabury Hall was tops in the girls with 12.53, slower than her 12.05 earlier this year but easily faster than anyone else.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email