Kamehameha’s Ashley Gooman goes for ILH slam

Ashley Gooman, top, who beat Waianae's Katie Reyes at 122 pounds at Officials, is going for her fourth ILH title on Saturday. Photo by Kat Wade/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

Teshya Alo‘s 2016 Kamehameha girls wrestling team gets better and better every year.

Ashley Gooman, who was a freshman on that team, can add to that team’s lore on Saturday with a fourth ILH title, joining Alo and Zion Grace Vierra as members of that squad to eventually go on to complete the ILH slam. There are only six Warriors to do it, and three of them toiled in the same wrestling room not so long ago. Other Warriors to complete the slam are Iwalani Fonoimoana (2002), Randolyn Nohara (2007) and Bree Rapoza (2013).

Now that Gooman is a senior and ranked No. 2 in Hawaii Prep World’s pound-for-pound rankings, she might be second only to Alo in accomplishments from the group in 2016. Gooman’s quest for four state titles was dashed by Kaiser’s Tiare Ikei in last year’s final match, but Ikei has left for Colorado so Gooman’s top seed is virtually assured if she can win her fourth league crown.

Gooman was a wide-eyed freshman surrounded by all-stars three years ago but now that she is the leader she might have just as much talent at her disposal as Alo did. Paige Respicio, a junior, will be going for her third ILH title and presumably the slam next year.

Alana Vivas, Alexis Nova Posiulai and Krystal Puahala will all attempt to earn repeat titles for the Warriors while Marisa Iha tries to defend her title for Punahou. Pac-Five’s Dylan Huddy might even have an opponent this year, she won he first ILH title unopposed last season.

Pac-Five is coming off a breakout season in which it won four ILH titles, but it remains Kamehameha, Punahou and everyone else in the small league. The Warriors have boasted of multiple champions every year since 2012 and the Buffanblu, who are led by Sandra Obra Nakata, have done it every year since 2004.

Iolani, which is led by Zoe Omura, hasn’t had multiple champions since 2014.

The championships begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday at Kamehameha.

Brackets will be posted here as soon as we get them.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.