Jones-Black, Wong top ILH girls soccer all-star teams

‘Iolani's Kelsey Wong, left, fought for a ball in the semifinals of the girls soccer state tournament in 2017 as a freshman. Photo by Cindy Ellen Russell / Honolulu Star-Advertiser.

Kamehameha junior D’awncey Jones-Black was named the offensive most valuable player and ‘Iolani sophomore Kelsey Wong earned defensive MVP honors to top the ILH girls soccer all-star teams announced Wednesday night.

Kamehameha’s Missy Moore was named the ILH coach of the year in Division I.

In Division II, Le Jardin senior Sarah Wong and Sacred Hearts senior Kekaimalie Woods shared offensive MVP honors and Le Jardin junior Cheyann Yamashiro and Sacred Hearts senior Kiley Pazcoguin are co-defensive MVPs.

The coach of the year award was also shared by Le Jardin’s Fred Patricio and Sacred Hearts’ Glenn Arakawa.

The all-star teams were voted on by the league coaches.

Division I

Offensive most valuable player—D’awncey Jones-Black, Jr, Kamehameha
Defensive most valuable player—Kelsey Wong, Soph, ‘Iolani
Coach of the year—Missy Moore, Kamehameha
Forwards—Kaitlyn Uyemoto, Soph, ‘Iolani; Leah Feato, Jr, Kamehameha; Tatum Kauka, Sr, Kamehameha; Layla Santos, Sr, Punahou
Midfielders—Sierra Wheeler, Soph, ‘Iolani; Kelsey Takahashi, Soph, ‘Iolani; Rachael Tagatauli, Sr, Kamehameha; Brende Yoshizumi, Sr, Kamehameha
Fullbacks—Taylor Arakaki, Jr, ‘Iolani; Tausani Tavale, Soph, Kamehameha; Nicole Wong, Jr, Kamehameha; Emma Gusman, Sr, Punahou
Goalkeeper—Hailey Asato, Sr, Punahou
Forwards—Marea Lee, Soph, ‘Iolani; Mia Watanabe, Soph, ‘Iolani; Sharon Cain, Sr, Kamehameha; Lauren Mukaigawa, Jr, Punahou
Midfielders—Cecilia Jenkins, Soph, ‘Iolani; Kylie Minamishin, Sr, Kamehameha; Kessinee Pi, Sr, Punahou; Kelsey Shintaku, Soph, Punahou
Fullbacks—Taylor Venenciano, Jr, ‘Iolani; Shylah Soon, Soph, ‘Iolani; Carley Park, Fr, Kamehameha; Sarah Kaupiko, Jr, Kamehameha
Goalkeeper—Kendal Stovall, Sr, Kamehameha
‘Iolani: Musuai Isaia, Alexandra Masca, Hailey Kawamura
Kamehameha: Kaulana Kanno
Mid-Pacific: Natalia Gosiaco, Lea Matsumura, Kaitlyn Matsunaga, Radhika Webster-Schultz
Pac-Five: Aniston Cabael, Kayla Kunihisa, Kalli-Ann Takafuji, Carly Venenciano
Punahou: Kirra Borrello, Layla Santos, Jamie-Lyn Shimamoto, Melia Waring, Taryn Kaneko

Division II

Co-offensive most valuable players—Sarah Wong, Sr, Le Jardin; Kekaimalie Woods, Sr, Sacred Hearts
Co-defensive most valuable players—Cheyanna Yamshiro, Jr, Le Jardin; Kiley Pazcoguin, Sr, Sacred Hearts
Co-coaches of the year—Fred Patricio, Le Jardin; Glenn Arakawa, Sacred Hearts
Forwards—Teanajae Ku’aina, Fr, Damien; Remi Riehl, Jr, Le Jardin; Alena Schenk, Soph, Sacred Hearts; Jocelyn Chen, Sr, Sacred Hearts; Meghan Matsuoka, Sr, Sacred Hearts
Midfielders—Julia Tilton, Soph, Damien; Natalie Piper, Sr, Le Jardin; Christiann Arakawa, Jr, Sacred Hearts; Eden Arthur, Jr, Sacred Hearts
Fullbacks—Mia Barrett, Sr, Le Jardin; Mahealani Baginski, Jr, Le Jardin; Jordan Confair, Sr, Sacred Hearts; Brooklyn Yano, Soph, Sacred Hearts
Goalkeeper—Alexis Schmidt, Jr, Sacred Hearts
Damien: Cecilia Fenton
Sacred Hearts: Leinani Lacio
Le Jardin: Malia Belnap


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email