‘Iolani’s Lincoln Oishi named All-State player of the year

'Iolani's Lincoln Oishi was named the Star-Advertiser All-State player of the year. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

‘Iolani senior Lincoln Oishi narrowly edged Punahou’s Max Moonier as the Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State player of the year in boys soccer.

The complete team was released in Sunday’s Honolulu Star-Advertiser, which you can read here.

Oishi is the first defender named Star-Advertiser boys soccer player of the year since Punahou’s Chris Walker shared the award in 2007.

‘Iolani’s Chris Lee was named coach of the year.

Here are some tidbits on the All-State team this year:

>> Moonier, Dominic Gusman and Nicholas Shor give Punahou three All-State first teamers in boys soccer for the first time since 2016 when Tyler Ohata, Christopher Brubaker and Shaeffer Rafto were honored.

>> Skyler Goo is the first Saint Louis boy to be named first-team All-State in boys soccer since Matt Terry was judged the best by both newspapers in 2006.

>> Sam Wren and Tommy Mascaro-Keahi are the first Kapolei athletes to double up on the boys soccer first team since Shandon Hopeau and Lyric De Leon in 2016. Kapolei has had at least one representative for the fifth straight year, a program record.

>> Hawaii Prep’s Sihkea Jim and Jake Schneider repeat as boys soccer first teamers. They are the first players in school history to be named to the first team more than once.

>> Brison Kim gives Kalani a first teamer on the Star-Advertiser’s All-State boys soccer squad for the first time since 2016 and is the first midfielder honored from the school since Scott Manago in 2013.

>> Liam McGehee is the first junior from Mililani named to the Star-Advertiser’s All-State boys soccer first team since Renato Torquato in 2012 and next year he can be the first boy from the school to repeat since Justin Kim in 2003-04.

>> This is the first time the player of the year and the coach of the year came from the state runner up. The same school took both awards in 2016 (Punahou), 2014 (‘Iolani), 2013 (Kalani), 2011 (Punahou), 2008 (Kamehameha), 2007 (Punahou), 2006 (Punahou), 2002 (Mililani) and 2001 (Mililani), but all of those schools won state titles.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.