‘Iolani’s Elena Oglivie collects a third Gatorade Hawaii Player of Year honor

Elena Oglivie was honored as an Under Armour All-American, selected as one of the top 24 senior girls volleyball players in the nation. From left: assistant coach Kyle Miyamoto, Septimus Oglivie (father), Elena Oglivie, Helene Oglivie (mother), head coach Kainoa Obrey. Paul Honda/Star-Advertiser.

‘Iolani senior outside hitter Elena Oglivie became a three-time winner of the Gatorade Hawaii Girls Volleyball Player of the Year award, the Gatorade Company announced recently.

The award recognizes outstanding athletic excellence, high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character on and off the field.

The 5-foot-11 Oglivie was also the Gatorade Hawaii Player of the Year as a freshman and junior. She had 259 kills and a .401 hitting percentage with 190 digs in the fall.

She missed six matches in the middle of the season while helping Team USA win a gold medal in Egypt at the FIVB Girls U18 World Championships.

Oglivie is also a two-time Honolulu Star-Advertiser Player of the Year. In her four years, she finished with 1,6654 kills and 1,356 digs.

Oglivie joins Kamehameha’s Kanani Herring as the only three-time winners. Herring won it in 2005, ’06 and 07.

In addition, Oglivie has spent time coaching and refereeing youth volleyball and is active in community service with ‘Iolani’s I Club. She will be attending Stanford to play volleyball next season, and she is a 4.0 student, according to a Gatorade news release.

“Elena was a dangerous and impactful player on the court,” Hawaii Baptist coach Myles Shioji said in a press release.

Gatorade Hawaii Girls Volleyball Players of the Year

>> 2019: Elena Oglvie, ‘Iolani
>> 2018: Elena Oglivie, ‘Iolani
>> 2017: Lexis Akeo, Kamehameha
>> 2016: Elena Oglivie, ‘Iolani
>> 2015: Bailey Choy, ‘Iolani
>> 2014: McKenna Granato, Punahou
>> 2013: Aloha Robins-Hardy, Kamehameha
>> 2012: Carly Kan, Punahou
>> 2011: Tayler Higgins, Punahou
>> 2010: Misty Ma’a, Kamehameha
>> 2009: Sarah Palmer, Hawaii Baptist
>> 2008: Sarah Palmer, Hawaii Baptist
>> 2007: Kanani Herring, Kamehameha
>> 2006: Kanani Herring, Kamehameha
>> 2005: Kanani Herring, Kamehameha
>> 2004: Tamari Miyashiro, Kalani
>> 2003: Aneli Cubi-Otineru, Punahou
>> 2002: Tuli Peters, Kahuku
>> 2001: Kanoe Kamanao, ‘Iolani
>> 2000: Milia Macfarlane, Punahou
>> 1999: Uila Crabbe, Kamehameha
>> 1998: Lily Kahumoku, Kamehameha
>> 1997: Lily Kahumoku, Kamehameha
>> 1996: Tehani Miyashiro, Punahou
>> 1995: Sarah Jane Clark, Hawaii Prep


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.