ILH girls soccer all-star teams: Players share top offensive, defensive honors

Sacred Hearts' Alena Schenk, right, was the only soccer player not to share one of the major ILH awards handed out on Wednesday. Photo by Dennis Oda/Star-Advertiser.

The ILH coaches were in a sharing mood voting on their all-stars teams in girls soccer.

In Division I, Kamehameha sophomore Anuhea Aluli and Pac-Five senior Faith Lee shared the offensive most valuable player honor while Kamehameha senior Tausani Tavale and Punahou senior Taryn Kaneko were named co-defensive MVP’s.

Missy Moore of Kamehameha was honored as the coach of the year.

In Division II, Damien junior Hailey Rapoza and Mid-Pacific junior Lia Collis shared the defensive MVP honor. There was no arguing the offensive most valuable player award, which went to Sacred Hearts senior Alena Schenk.

Mid-Pacific’s Austin Draper was named coach of the year.

Here are the full all-star teams. According to the ILH release, only seven players (no fullbacks) were named to the Division II second team.

Division I

Co-offensive most valuable player—Anuhea Aluli, So., Kamehameha; Faith Lee, Sr., Pac-Five.
Co-defensive most valuable player—Tausani Tavale, Sr., Kamehameha; Taryn Kaneko, Sr., Punahou.
Coach of the year—Missy Moore, Kamehameha.
GK—Marley Roe, Fr., Kamehameha
F—Sasha Asselbaye, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kaitlyn Uemoto, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kalia Kalua, Sr., Kamehameha; Paris Sellers, Sr., Punahou.
MF—Hailey Kawamura, Sr., ‘Iolani; Maya Hagiwara, Sr., Kamehameha; Caly Ah Soon, Jr., Kamehameha; Kelsey Shintaku, Sr., Punahou.
FB—Shylah Soon, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kelsey Wong, Sr., ‘Iolani; Serena Lovell, Jr., Kamehameha; Charis Ramos, So., Kamehameha.
GK—Kayla Arucan, Fr., Pac-Five.
F—Marea Lee, Sr., ‘Iolani; Kaeliah Kahana, Fr., Kamehameha; Kamryn Kaleiohi-Haia, Fr., Kamehameha; Allison Little, Jr., Punahou.
MF—Kelsey Takahashi, Sr., ‘Iolani; Leila Kahoano, So., Kamehameha; Madison Toyama, Sr., Pac-Five; Hannah Dela Vega, Jr., Pac-Five.
FB—Sinautuloa Sataraka, Sr., ‘Iolani; Sienna Inouye, So., Kamehameha; Taylor Balantac, Sr., Pac-Five; Taylor Matsubara, Sr., Punahou.
‘Iolani: Ali Yoshida, Jr.; Tahia Alexio, So.
Kamehameha: Keely Kahana, Fr.
Pac-Five: Joie Fukunaga, Sr.; Stormee Hoohuli, Sr.; Jersey Botelho, Jr.; Jaeda Doctolero, Jr.
Punahou: Mia Gaughan, Sr.; Legacy Kalua, Sr.; Leila Makaigawa, Sr.; Allie Lam, Jr.; Jordan Lau, Jr.; Adriana Maroney, Jr.; Tiani Wayton, Jr.; Ellie Gusman, Fr.

Division II

Offensive most valuable player—Alena Schenk, Sr., Sacred Hearts.
Co-defensive most valuable player—Hailey Rapoza, Jr., Damien; Lia Collis, Jr., Mid-Pacific.
Coach of the year—Austin Draper, Mid-Pacific.
GK—Faith Mafua, Sr., Damien.
F—Caitlyn Onato, Fr., Damien; Sophia Saiki, Sr., Mid-Pacific; Celia Kong-Johnson, Jr., Punahou; Brooklyn Yano, Sr., Sacred Hearts.
MF—Breanne Moreilhon, Fr., Damien; Rainah Draper, Jr., Mid-Pacific; Emma Kajiwara, Jr., Punahou; Sara Cruz, So., Sacred Hearts.
FB—Kaitlyn Au, Sr., Mid-Pacific; Kiana Simon, Sr., Mid-Pacific; Seychelle Brainard, Jr., Punahou; Te’a Kekahuna, Sr., Sacred Hearts.
GK—Zoe Oshiro, Jr., Mid-Pacific.
F—Mackenzie Nitta, So., Mid-Pacific; Ashley Okinara, So., Mid-Pacific.
MF—Naiya Chang, So., Damien; Kiana Bartenstein, Jr., Mid-Pacific; Paige Ho, Jr., Mid-Pacific; Rylee Barber, Sr., Punahou.
Damien: Julia Tilton, Sr.
Mid-Pacific: Kate Nakamura, So.
Punahou: Emma Lalau, Sr.
Sacred Hearts: Kiana Paiania, Sr.; Zoey Yoshikawa, Fr.


  1. ILoveHawaii February 27, 2020 9:45 am

    Wow. Jordan Lau didnt make first or second team, again.

    Someone needs a talking to.

  2. Carla February 27, 2020 1:26 pm

    It looks like someone was preventing Punahou players from being on this list! What’s obvious is that the voting process is manipulated! The Punahou players should be way more prevalent on this list! ILH, you need to look into changing the process cause it is obviously not right.

  3. UDB February 27, 2020 3:45 pm

    i agree with @ILoveHawaii
    Jordan Lau not on first team seems suspicious based on her defensive prowess which is statistically supported.

  4. ILH4Life March 17, 2021 4:08 pm

    In re to the voting, please get all your information before posting.
    The process involves the ILH and the coaches for each division and the ILH is present.
    The team’s coaches select the player and based on the other coaches in the division, there are names that are on the ballot that coaches select. The nominees goes to the ILH and the ILH preps the ballot and the coaches vote at the ILH soccer meeting. In Division 1 there are many talented and good players. Congrats to all the players on the ballot (which we as the public don’t see obviously) and for the voted ones. There are many talented/good players in the ILH and not only Punahou. All the players not on the ballot or on the ballot deserves a “good job” as every player works hard during the soccer season. To each their own and what do I know. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email