How they fared: Pa’ani Challenge

Campbell's Angela Peralta looked for a way out of a hold applied by Lahainaluna's Carly Jaramillo on Saturday. Honolulu Star-Advertiser photo by Krystle Marcellus
Campbell’s Angela Peralta looked for a way out of a hold applied by Lahainaluna’s Carly Jaramillo on Saturday. Honolulu Star-Advertiser photo by Krystle Marcellus

How the wrestlers in the girls pound-for-pound rankings fared at Punahou’s Pa’ani Challenge over the weekend:

1. Teshya Alo, Kamehameha (138)
Paani champ: Pinned Diana Marquez (Aiea) in 0:31, Pinned Dani Dinlocker-Santi (Mililani) in 1:53, Pinned Kendall Porter (Del Oro) in 0:30, Pinned No. 6 Breeana Dudoit-Vasquez (Lahainaluna) in 2:20.

2. Carly Jaramillo, Lahainaluna (145)
Paani champ: Pinned Kayla Araki (KS-Hawaii) in 1:13, Pinned No. 9 Angela Peralta (Campbell) in 3:58

3. Lelelei Mataafa, Lahainaluna (285)
Paani champ: Pinned Katherine Hann (Keaau) in 1:50, Pinned Rika Sarkar (Pun) in 0:15, Pinned Tristan Borden (Baldwin) in 0:36.

4. Kalissa Pundyke, Campbell (102)
Did not compete at Pa’ani

5. Taniya Alo, ‘Iolani (127)
Did not compete at Pa’ani.

6. Breanna Dudoit-Vasquez, Lahainaluna (138)
Second at Pa’ani: Pinned Kara Downey (Radford) in 0:31, Beat Netanya Kang (Pearl City) 7-2, Lost to No. 1 Teshya Alo (Kamahemeha) by pin in 2:20.

7. Asia Lien Evans, Pearl City (127)
Pa’ani champ: Beat Taylor Rabara (Baldwin) 3-2, beat Anela Wasson (Kahuku) 9-2

8. Diamond Freitas, Lahainaluna (112)
Pa’ani champ: Pinned Asialand Whiting (Campbell) in 0:43, Pinned Hiilani Meyer (Kamehameha) in 1:35, Beat Taryn Ichimura (Punahou) 14-1

9. Angela Peralta, Campbell (145)
Second at Pa’ani: Pinned Alexandra Aquino (Lahainaluna) in 1:52, Beat Lilia Kaka (Kahuku) 8-0, lost to No. 2 Carly Jaramillo (Lahainalua) by pin in 3:58.

10. Donavyn Futa, Kamehameha (113)
Did not compete at Pa’ani

Honorable mention
Jocelyn Alo, Kahuku
Did not compete at Pa’ani

Alexis Encinas, Lahainaluna (107)
Pa’ani champ: Beat Mikayla Abe (Pearl City) 11-5, beat Kyla Aruda (King Kekaulike) 6-1, Pinned Brianna Leong (Leilehua) in 5:37.

Joen Tominaga, Pearl City (117)
Did not place at Pa’ani: Lost to Kristen Kojima (Roosevelt) 3-2, lost to Tehani Carlson (Waianae) 8-5.

Angessa Newman, Waianae (132)
Second at P’aani: Pinned Jaden Rivera (King Kekaulike) in 0:30, Lost to Pomaikai Yamaguchi (Kamehameha) 7-2

Sabrina Alo, Kahuku
Did not compete at Pa’ani

Sarah Miner, Aiea
Did not compete at Pa’ani

Poimaikai Yamaguchi, Kamehameha (132)
Pa’ani champ: Pinned Asia Igafo (Castle) in 5:16, Beat Maria Garcia (Roosevelt) 9-0, beat Angessa Newman (Waianae) 7-2

Others to watch:
>> Campbell’s Caragh Morris won 168 with two pins.
>> Kristen Kojima of Roosevelt won the 117 bracket with wins over Joen Tominaga of Pearl City in the first round and Alexis Ford of Pearl City in the final.
>> Iverly Navarro of Lahainaluna won at 102 pounds with a 10-2 win over Waianae’s Alexis Nelson and a 16-1 win over Kaisa Ishikawa of Kauai.

Complete results can be found at:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email