HIADA honors coaches, administrators for their years of service

Ron Velasco, Keith Amemiya, Frank Degele, Laurie Koustik, Keith Tolentino, Allen Fernandez. Missing from photo: Agenhart Ellis II, Rodney Iwasaki and Alex Kane. Photo courtesy HHSAA.

Hawaii’s athletic directors gather every year, usually on a Neighbor Island, to do some of its legislative business.

New rules are voted on and adopted. But that’s not all. They listen to guest speakers and they hand out awards as well as relax after the grind of the athletics school year.

This year, the Hawaii Interscholastic Athletic Directors Association awards were given in three categories last week at the Kauai Marriott Resort in Lihue.

The award winners are:

Special service
>> Agenhart Ellis II (former Farrington athletic director and football coach)
>> Rodney Iwasaki (former Roosevelt and Kaiser athletic director)
>> Alex Kane (former Kailua athletic director and football, baseball and track and field coach)
>> Allen Fernandez (track and field official)

>> Frank Degele (Pahoa softball and baseball)
>> Ron Velasco (Kapaa track and field and football)

Athletic administrator
>> Keith Amemiya (former Hawaii High School Athletic Association executive director)
>> Laurie Koustik (Kohala athletic director)
>> Keith Tolentino (Honokaa athletic director)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.