Estrella nails down fourth MIL wrestling title

Kainalu Estrella is the MIL's first grand slam winner in a long time. Bruce Asato, Star-Advertiser

Lahainaluna’s Kainalu Estrella completed his mission on Maui, earning the rare grand slam with a championship at the league championships on Saturday night.

Estrella pinned Kamehameha-Maui’s Noa Helm in 2 minutes, 50 seconds for the historic win. No boys wrestler has won titles all four years since at least 1980. Estrella won at 113 pounds as a freshman, 120 as a sophomore, 128 as a junior and 134 this year.

He also had the fastest pin in Saturday’s tournament, winning a match in 21 seconds.

Lahainaluna had seven other champions in a dominating performance on the boys side: Ikua Tihada at 115, Kanoa Lanoza (122), Zeff Dudoit (126), Kawehi Gillcoat (140), Jesse Dudoit (147), Reeno Pascual (172) and Ty Bates (184).

Other MIL champions on the boys side are Coby Ravida of Baldwin (108), Caele Manley (154) and Diego Deponte (162) of Molokai, Maui’s Jonathan Aunese (197) and Chance Rodrigues (287) and Baldwin’s Benjamin Tokanang (222).

Gillcoat added his name to the list of three-time winners, while Ravida, Tihada and Bates all won their second.

Brackets will be added once they are published.

Two more Estrellas won titles in the girls tournament, with Nanea Estrella beating Sierra Perryman of Maui in 1:04 for the 124-pound crown and Waipulani Estrella-Beauchamp of Baldwin pinning Molokai’s Kamahina Kanuha-Kaiama in 1:39 at 129 pounds.

Baldwin’s girls had a field day, winning five other MIL titles. McKenzie Acob (114), Jahnea Miguel (147), Shayna Kamaka (170), Siera Vida (186) and Celine Gomes (227) all climbed to the top of the podium for the Bears.

Lahainaluna’s other winners were Ira Navarro (104), Sami Saribay (109), Kauanoe Keahi (134) and Fayanne Rosario (157).

Alea Davis of Molokai (99), Lanai’s Emma Debrum (119) and Molokai’s Daisha Kahoalii-Kaliikane (140) also nailed down league titles and the state seeding that comes with it.

Navarro picked up her third MIL title, while Estrella, Kahoalii-Kalilikane and Miguel won their second.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email