Baldwin’s Coby Ravida makes winning return

Coby Ravida, top, won his first state championship last year. Dennis Oda / Star-Advertiser.

Coby Ravida is back.

The Baldwin lightweight missed December’s all-important tournament season and hit the mat for the first time last week, cutting a swath through Maui in his return. He warmed up by pinning Maui’s Jake Rapanut in 55 seconds and Kruz Solaria of KS-Maui in 1:05.

Not satisfied with the short stoppages, he entered the Kamehameha Round Robin on Saturday and beat Maui’s Jonah Garagonza 28-3 and Jaia Wilson of King Kekaulike 18-3.

He is currently wrestling at 120 pounds, which is already stacked with the likes of Kamehameha’s Brant Porter, Elijah Asuncion of Moanalua and Kaiser’s Koby Chun. Teammate Gabriel Valdez wrestled at 120 at Officials and finished fourth.

Ravida was at 113 for his return. That class is ruled by Kamehameha’s Sheydon Tomisato after the Warrior took Officials.

Ravida pinned Porter for the state championship at 106 pounds last year, becoming the first boy to pin his way through the tournament at that weight class since Jason Spiker of Kaiser in 2009. Should he repeat at a state champion, Ravida would be the first Baldwin boy to win successive state titles since Maui News Athlete of the Year Carlton Okamoto in 1993-94.

Also on Saturday, Lahainaluna’s Kanoa Lanoza beat Kahiliwala Joy of Baldwin 10-8 in overtime, Sami Saribay of Lahainaluna beat Baldwin’s Tianna Fernandez in two matches, 12-4 and 9-7; and Baldwin’s Siera Vida pinned Shannon Jaramillo of Lahainaluna at 225 pounds.

Tayler Peligrino Hayase of Lahainaluna and Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel both won at 145 pounds, but they wrestled in separate brackets.

Saturday’s winners:
B106: Tobey Ravida, Baldwin
B113: Roden Zyrus De Guzman, Baldwin
B120: Coby Ravida, Baldwin
B120B: Trystan Ahyat, KS-Maui
B126: Kanoa Lanoza, Lahainaluna
B132: Zeff Dudoit, Lahainaluna
B138: Kawehi Gillcoat, Lahainaluna
B138: Ashton Greenleaf, Molokai
B145: Jacob Taguiam, Lahainaluna
B152: Billy Treu, Baldwin
B160: Keaka Kuaana, Lahainaluna
B170: Elijah Oliveira Kalalau, Lahainaluna
B182: Ty Bates, Lahainaluna
B195: Darius Mynar, KS-Maui
B285: Benjamin Tokanang, Baldwin

F102: Liana Ferreira, Baldwin
F107: Sami Saribay, Lahainaluna
F117: Michaelah Vasquez, King Kekaulike
F122: Alicia Frank, Lahainaluna
F122B: Keeya Bicoy, Molokai
F132: Waipuilani Estrella Beauchamp, Baldwin
F145: Tayler Peligrino Hayase, Lahainaluna
F145B: Jahnea Miguel, Baldwin
F155: Sunni Chow, Molokai
F168: Shayna Kamaka, Baldwin
F225: Siera Vida, Baldwin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email