Baldwin and KS-Hawaii get top seeds in D-I and D-II baseball

Baldwin's Kevin Varner Jr. celebrated with teammates after scoring one of the Bears' 14 runs against Waiakea in the state final last year. The Bears are the No. 1 seed this season as they go for a third championships in four years. Photo by Jay Metzger/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

MIL champion Baldwin received the No. 1 seed and a first-round bye in the Wally Yonamine Foundation/HHSAA State Baseball Championships at Iron Maehara Stadium in Wailuku, Maui, coming up next week.

The Bears, who have won the D-I title two of the last three years, play the Waiakea/Saint Louis winner from Wednesday in Thursday’s quarterfinals.

The other Division I seeded teams are ILH champ Punahou at No. 2, BIIF champ Hilo at No. 3 and OIA champ Mililani at No. 4.

Other Thursday quarterfinal games include Mililani vs. Kamehameha/Castle winner, Punahou vs. Campbell/Kaiser winner, and Hilo vs. Maui/Kailua winner.

Semifinals and finals for both D-I and D-II will be Friday and Saturday.

In the eight-team Division II tournament at Vidinha Stadium in Lihue, Kauai, BIIF champ Kamehameha-Hawaii earned the top seed, with OIA champ Radford at No. 2, ILH champ St. Francis at No. 3, and KIF champ Waimea at No. 4.

Quarterfinal matchups Thursday include: Kamehameha-Hawaii vs. Waipahu, Waimea vs. Molokai, Radford vs. Seabury Hall, and St. Francis vs. Konawaena.

The complete schedules are below.

Division I

Match #DateMatchupTime/ScoresSite
1May 8Kaiser vs. Campbell10:45 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
2May 8Kamehameha vs. Castle1:30 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
3May 8Waiakea vs. Saint Louis4:15 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
4May 8Maui vs. Kailua7 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
5*May 9G3 loser vs. G2 loser8:15 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
6May 9(4) Mililani vs. G2 winner10:45 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
7May 9(3) Hilo vs. G4 winner1:30 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
8May 9(2) Punahou vs. G1 winner4:15 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
9May 9(1) Baldwin vs. G3 winner7 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
10*May 10G1 loser vs. G4 loser8:30 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
11*May 10G8 loser vs. G7 loser11 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
12*May 10G6 loser vs. G9 loser1:30 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
13May 10G7 winner vs. G8 winner4 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
14May 10G6 winner vs. G9 winner7 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
15*May 11G5 winner vs. G10 winner10:30 a.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
16*May 11G12 winner vs. G11 winner1 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
17*May 11G14 loser vs. G13 loser3:30 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
18May 11G14 winner vs. G13 winner6 p.m.Iron Maehara Stadium
* — consolation

Division II

Game #DateMatchupTime/ScoresSite
1May 9(3) St. Francis vs. Konawaena11:30 a.m.Vidinha Stadium
2May 9(2) Radford vs. Seabury Hall2 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
3May 9(1) KS-Hawaii vs. Waipahu4:30 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
4May 9(4) Waimea vs. Molokai7 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
5*May 10G2 loser vs. G1 loser10:30 a.m.Vidinha Stadium
6*May 10G3 loser vs. G4 loser1 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
7May 10G2 winner vs. G1 winner3:30 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
8May 10G3 winner vs. G4 winner7:30 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
9*May 11G6 winner vs. G5 winner2 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
10*May 11G8 loser vs. G7 loser4:30 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
11May 11G8 winner vs. G7 winner7 p.m.Vidinha Stadium
* — consolation


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email