An early look at the OIA girls volleyball playoffs

Mililani's Falanika Danielson (10) put down one of her 15 kills to help lead the Trojans to a five-set comeback win over Kapolei. It was the only two sets the Trojans lost during the regular season. Photo by Andrew Lee/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

The OIA girls volleyball regular season ends tonight with three games in the OIA East.

The OIA West finished its season last night with the playoffs scheduled to begin next week.

>> Click here for OIA results/standings

Moanalua (11-0) and Mililani (10-0), tied for No. 4 in the latest Honolulu Star-Advertiser Top 10, earned the top seeds out of each division. No. 6 Kahuku (9-1), which hosts Kailua tonight, and No. 9 Kapolei (9-1) are the No. 2 seeds and will receive a first-round bye.

Farrington (7-3) needs a victory over winless Anuenue (0-10) tonight to earn the No. 3 seed in the East with Kaiser (7-4) finishing as the No. 4 seed.

Roosevelt’s four-set victory over Kalaheo on Tuesday could make a difference as the Rough Riders (5-5) need a win over McKinley tonight to finish tied with the Mustangs in the standings. The head-to-head tiebreaker would give Roosevelt the No. 5 seed and Kalaheo the No. 6 seed out of the East.

The Tigers are a tough test though as McKinley, at 7-3 overall, has run away with the top seed in Division II.

Castle (3-8) has been eliminated from playoff contention in Division I. Kalani (5-6) and Kailua (2-8) are the other East teams to advance to the Division II playoffs.

Out West, Waianae (8-2) is the No. 3 seed with Nanakuli (5-5) earning the head-to-head tiebreaker over Aiea (5-5) for the No. 4 seed due to a five-set win on Sept. 4.

Leilehua (4-6) is the No. 6 seed with Radford (2-8) eliminated.

Campbell (6-4) finished a game ahead of Pearl City (5-5) for the No. 1 seed in Division II with Waialua (1-9) also making the playoffs.

OIA Playoffs
Byes: E1 Moanalua (11-0), E2 Kahuku (9-1), W1 Mililani (10-0), W2 Kapolei (9-1)
Opening round
E3 Farrington (7-3) or Kaiser (7-4) vs. W6 Leilehua (4-6)
E4 Farrington (7-3) or Kaiser (7-4) vs. W5 Aiea (5-5)
E5 Roosevelt (5-5) or Kalaheo (6-5) vs. W4 Nanakuli (5-5)
E6 Roosevelt (5-5) or Kalaheo (6-5) vs. W3 Waianae (8-2)
E1 Moanalua (11-0) vs. W4/E5 winner
W1 Mililani (10-0) vs. E4/W5 winner
E2 Kahuku (9-1) vs. W3/E6 winner
W2 Kapolei (9-1) vs. E3/W6 winner
Byes: E1 McKinley (7-3), W1 Campbell (6-4)
Opening round
E2 Kalani (5-6) vs. W3 Waialua (1-9)
W2 Pearl City (5-5) vs. E3 Kailua (2-8)
E1 McKinley (7-3) vs. PC/Kail winner
W1 Campbell (6-4) vs. Kaln/Wail winner


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email