All-State volleyball: 2000-09

Spencer McLachlin of Punahou is the only boy to be named player of the year three times in volleyball. Cindy Ellen Russell / Star-Advertiser

With the Star-Advertiser’s boys volleyball all-state team coming out Sunday, here is a look at the All-State teams from 2000-2009.

The ILH had at least a share of every player of the year award in the decade, beginning with Punahou’s Will Reppun. But that glory was short lived as Isaac Kneubuhl and Kamehameha took over before relenting to an Iolani run led by Sean Carney and Todd Blankenship. Spencer McLachlin of Punahou took over from 2004-06 and remains the only three-time player of the year. There was no team in 2007 when the sport moved from the fall to the spring.

Tomorrow we will post from 2010-present.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email