Grossman still the one to beat

Seabury Hall senior distance runner Dakota Grossman has won too many cross country meets over the years to count, but on Saturday she won one that will really count.

Grossman, who is trying to become just the second girls runner to win four successive state championships, took the ‘Iolani Invitational by nearly 30 seconds at Kualoa Ranch on Saturday.

She ran the three miles in 17 minutes, 42.58 seconds to dust a field of runners from the Western United States. Mikayla Florez of Riverbank (Calif.) was second in 18:11.90, and Heidi Smith of Glacier Peak (Wash.) was third in 18:18.40.

But those two won’t stand in the way of the state championships scheduled for Oct. 25 on Kauai. The next-fastest Hawaii girl was Punahou sophomore Teri Brady, who placed seventh in 18:47.08, nearly a minute behind Grossman on the fast track.

Brady’s time was the fastest for an ILH girl this year, and Kaiser’s Lina Schell ran a 19:08.14 to finish 11th with the second-fastest OIA time behind Mililani’s Vanessa Roybal’s 19:06 at Pearl City last week. Seven of the 10 fastest times of the year in the OIA came at Kualoa and eight of the 10 fastest ILH times happened there.

Kaahanui beats Clemons again

The title of fastest boy on Oahu looks like it will come down to a two horse race after Kualoa, where Kamehameha’s Davis Kaahanui beat Kalaheo junior Makai Clemons by 10 seconds.

Kaahanui, the reigning state champ as a senior, flew over the course in 15:15.11, and Clemons finished it in 15:25.34. It was Kaahanui’s second straight win over Clemons; he beat him by three seconds at Kaiser two weeks ago.

Kaeo Kruse of Kamehameha was third in 15:34.43 as Hawaii runners dominated their mainland counterparts.

OIA schools will next run in the Mililani Invitational at 9 a.m. on Saturday, while their ILH counterparts have a meet in Kapolei the same day.

‘Iolani Invitational results

Top times for Oahu runners this season:

OIA girls
1. Vanessa Roybal, Mililani, 19:06.00 @ Pearl City
2. Lina Schell, Kaiser, 19:08.14 @ Kualoa
3. Alea Amano, Kaiser, 19:09.87 @ Kualoa
4. Percie Lyons, Kalaheo, 19:23.08 @ Kualoa
5. Madison Holzner, Kalaheo, 19:27.96 @ Kualoa
6. Mary Eccles, Leilehua, 19:29.65 @ Kualoa
7. Erika Schell, Kaiser, 19:31.93 @ Kualoa
8. Vanessa Roybal, Mililani, 19:45.00 @ Aiea
9. Maile Shigemasa, Pearl City, 19:45.65 @ Kualoa
10. Maile Shigemasa, Pearl City, 19:54.00 @ Pearl City

ILH girls
1. Teri Brady, Punahou, 18:47.08 @ Kualoa
2. Noe Obermeyer, Punahou, 19:01.18 @ Kualoa
3. Kai Hoshijo, Kamehameha, 19:02.49 @ Kapolei
4. Kai Hoshijo, Kamehameha, 19:19.21 @ Kualoa
5. Hallie Lam, Punahou, 19:22.58 @ Kualoa
6. Noe Lum , Punahou, 19:27.40 @ Kualoa
7. Amanda Beaman, Iolani, 19:36.33 @ Kaiser
8. Maya Ushijima, Iolani, 19:45.93 @ Kualoa
9. Hii Ellis, Kamehameha, 19:54.93 @ Kualoa
10. Mikayla Fuijwara, Punahou, 19:56.43 @ Kualoa

OIA boys
1. Makai Clemons, Kalaheo, 15:25.34 @ Kualoa
2. Toshiro Kosins, Kalaheo, 15:39.37 @ Kualoa
3. Makai Clemons, Kalaheo, 15:45:00 @ Pearl City
4. Jakob Dewald, Mililani, 16:08.00 @ Pearl City
5. Pierce Humble, Kalaheo, 16:10.02 @ Kualoa
6. Makai Clemons, Kalaheo, 16:12.84 @ Radford
7. Toshiro Kosins, Kalaheo, 16:24.40 @ Kailua
8. Makai Clemons, Kalaheo, 16:26.84 @ Kaiser
9. Danson Honda, Pearl City, 16:30.52 @ Kualoa
10. Pierce Humble, Kalaheo, 16:38.00 @ Pearl City

ILH boys
1. Davis Kaahanui, Kamehameha 15:15.11 @ Kualoa
2. Kaeo Kruse, Kamehameha 15:34.43 @ Kualoa
3. Jacques Hebert, Punahou 15:49.02 @ Kualoa
4. Gordon Kowalkowski, Punahou 15:58.58 @ Kualoa
5. Kainalu Asam, Kamehameha 16:02.68 @ Kualoa
6. Connor Lehl, Punahou 16:14.87 @ Kualoa
7. Davis Kaahanui, Kamehameha 16:23.80 @ Kaiser
8. Justin Park, Iolani 16:41.62 @ Kualoa
9. Jaques Hebert, Punahou 16:47.79 @ Kaiser
10. Brett Tsuzaki, Iolani 16:56.02 @ Kualoa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email