Kamehameha’s Christmas Togiai named ILH most valuable player

Kamehameha's Christmas Togiai led the Warriors to the ILH championship this season. Photo by Bruce Asato/Star-Advertiser.

Despite his season ending in the state semifinals with a serious knee injury, Kamehameha senior Christmas Togiai was named the ILH most valuable player in Division I today.

Kamehameha’s Larry Park was named coach of the year.

Below are the complete ILH basketball all-star teams as voted on by league coaches. The Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State Fab 15 team will be released Sunday.

Division I

Most valuable player—Christmas Togiai, Sr, Kamehameha
Coach of the year—Larry Park, Kamehameha
Jake Holtz, Sr, Damien
Kordel Ng, Sr, Kamehameha
Niko Robben, Sr, Maryknoll
Liko Soares, Sr, Maryknoll
Kamana Lapina, Sr, Mid-Pacific
Tino Atonio, Jr, Damien
Sage Tolentino, So, Maryknoll
Jordan-Deshawn Hepting, Sr, Punahou
Ryder Hsiung, Jr, Punahou
Aiva Arquette, So, Saint Louis
Bryce Forbes, Sr; Hayden Bayudan, So.
‘Iolani: Tyler Morita, Sr; Andrew Dawson, Jr.
Kamehameha: Bailey Lee, Sr; Preston Ponteras, Sr.
Maryknoll: Noah Furtado, Jr.
Mid-Pacific: Elijah Kahua-Parker, Jr.
Saint Louis: Isaac Silva, Sr.

Division II

Most valuable player—Johnathan Akaka, Sr, Hanalani
Coach of the year—James Payne, Hanalani
Ethan Escobido, So, Hanalani
Makua Marumoto, Sr, Hawaii Baptist
Ridge Wada, Sr, Hawaii Baptist
Steven Duke Thomas, So, Le Jardin
Colby Chun, Sr, University
Ostin Taylor, Sr, University
Cris Harrison, Jr, Hanalani
Justin Ishida, Sr, Hawaii Baptist
Joseph Fung, So, Hawaii Baptist
Riley Brunel, Jr, Le Jardin
Jacob Flores, Jr, University
Hanalani: Trevor Mersburgh, Sr.
Hawaii Baptist: Zackary Qin, Sr.
University: Joshua Ancheta, Sr.

Division III

Most valuable player—Sky Okamura, Sr, Christian Academy
Coach of the year—Murphy Kealoha, Christian Academy
Jarret Medeiros, Sr, Assets
Ken Ogihara, Jr, Christian Academy
Makamae Bede, So, Hawaii Mission Academy
Andrew Lu, So, Island Pacific Academy
Keanu Chambrella, Fr, Lanakila Baptist
Sage Akina-Garrigus, Jr, Hawaiian Mission Academy
Jared Moran, Jr, Hawaiian Mission Academy
Micah Castillo, So, Hawaiian Mission Academy
Rodger Phillips, Sr, Island Pacific Academy
Makoa Chambrella, Sr, Lanakila Baptist
Christian Academy: Kaleb Gugudan, Jr; Caleb Corpuz, Fr.
Island Pacific Academy: Michael Gottlieb, Sr; Chad Schmidt, So.
Lanakila Baptist: Kainoa Langsi, Jr.

Division I-AA

Most valuable player—Makalii Katagiri, Sr, Kamehameha
Coach of the year—Jayson Kauwenaole, Kamehameha
Hunter Schmidt, Jr, ‘Iolani
Chace Baliaris, Sr, Kamehameha
Titus Maunakea, Sr, Kamehameha
Isaiah Paekukui-Cockett, Jr, Kamehameha
Cadde Trujillo, Jr, Kamehameha
Chase Hedani, Jr, Maryknoll
Ryan Sunada, Sr, ‘Iolani
Andrei Calucag, Jr, ‘Iolani
Ty Tam, Jr, Maryknoll
Blake Shew, Sr, Punahou
Dylan Yamada, Jr, Punahou
‘Iolani: Riley Usami, Jr.
Maryknoll: Mathew Ushijima, Sr.
Punahou: Max Cronk, Sr; Christian Hong, Sr; Christopher Tamayo, Sr.


  1. suspense March 18, 2020 7:01 am

    should have been Ng, or both of them as co-mvp

  2. me March 20, 2020 7:29 pm

    i agree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.