It’s Madness

Since the college tournament doesn’t do much for me, I put every Hawaii state champion boys basketball team into a 64-team bracket. I am not sure how I will determine each winner, perhaps by straight votes with Paul Honda or Dave Reardon picking if there are no votes. Jerry Campany is the tiebreaker, and we don’t want any of that. I will put each matchup on our facebook page, comment on who you think would win. I didn’t allow top seeds, just staggered them by era. I added the seven division II champions to get to 64, but did not include the AA champions from 1965-1982. The first round:

1957 Saint Louis vs. 2013 St. Francis
Saint Louis: beat Hilo 65-55 behind 20 points by Richard Apao and 12 by Lum. Other players were Plunkett, Naniole, Lutero, Mahiko and Pang. Coached by Walter Wong.
St. Francis: beat Kailua 39-34. Players: Autin Ursua, Sosiua Havea, Matthew Nuumanaia, Shabir Lynton, Blayne Wong, Keola Kealoha, Kyle Lau, Kalani Akana, Nayton Koki, Janson Kupau, Keoni-Tom MIllare, Daron Sun, Lachoneus Tautuiaka. Coached by Sol Batoon.

1988 University vs. 1989 Radford
University: beat Maryknoll 38-36. Alvarez, Miiho, DeCorte, Quitan, Stewart, Williams. Coached by Darryl Gabriel.
Radford: beat Kamehameha 57-55. Parham, Smith, Cooper, McCoy, McMillan, Davis, Jordan, Burnley, Curry, Dunbar. coached by Jim Alegre.

1973 Leilehua vs. 2004 Iolani
Leilehua: beat Hilo 56-52. Rick Wagner, Ward, Okamura, Kaloi, Caubet, Comiskey, Bonta. coached by Richard Townsend.
Iolani: beat Kalaheo 64-54. Derrick Low, Todd Blankenship, Ryan Hirata, Kyle Pape, Nip, Street, Yasuda, Tollefson, Shoji, Carney. Coached by Mark Mugiishi.

1972 Kailua vs. 2005 Iolani
Kailua: beat St. Louis 65-44. Smith, Schiessel, Naihe, Akamine, Marin, Casey, Ryan, Lauritzen, Hussey, Souza, Kahibaum, Mills. Coached by Merv Lopes.
Iolani: beat Kahuku 63-51: Pape, Young, Nip, Kang, Dung, Morikuni, Mounts, Kealoha, Shoji, Takamori, Eberlin, Yama, Marciel, Kepoo. Coached by Mark Mugiishi.

1965 Kamehameha vs. 2012 Punahou
Kamehameha: beat Kailua 55-49: Gurczynski, Hodges, Hess, Sabas, Perry, Winxhester, Warrington. coached by Jack Herbertson.
Punahou: beat Kahuku 59-52. Buckner, Tanuvasa, McAfee-Torco, Velasquez, Johnson, Gruebner, Matsukawa, Lakalaka, Taniguchi, Henderson, Fey. Coached by Darren Matsuda.

1980 Punahou vs. 1997 Moanalua
Punahou: beat University 73-60. Blasen, Hiu, Kamana, Hale, Haenisch, Hardy, Lum. coached by Ray Buck.
Moanalua: beat Iolani 58-57: Jones, Santiago, Kamakura, Kesaji, Rosado-Galindo, Williams, Marshall-Greene, Bruce. coached by Eddie Maruyama.

1981 Punahou vs. 1996 Moanalua
Punahou: beat Maryknoll 41-40. Santos, Uyeda, Fagg, Hashimoto, Noble, Hale, Taufaasau, Grininger. Coached by Robin Durand.
Moanalua: beat Kalaheo 49-44. Ron Jones, Marvin Santiago, Ramsey Williams, Kenneth Kesaji, Daniel Arakaku, C. Williams, Isaac Castro, Kaipo Silva, Galen Potts, Ngai Brash, Ken Walker, Frank Primca. coached by Eddie Maruyama.

1964 Hilo vs. 2013 Kalaheo
Hilo: beat Punahou 63-55. Tomas, DeSilva, Manliguis, Cabatu, Makaio, Binyan. coached by Albert Manliguis.
Kalaheo: beat Maryknoll 60-54 in OT. Josh Ko, Sukumaran, Zuttermeister, Morgan, Harrison, Vegas, Smith, Medeiros-Green, Tucker, Rowan. Coached by Alika Smith.

1960 Farrington vs. 2010 Pahoa

1985 Kalaheo vs. 1992 Kamehameha

1976 Kamahemeha vs. 2001 Kalaheo

1969 Radford vs. 2008 Punahou

1968 Saint Louis vs. 2009 Kamehameha

1977 Radford vs. 2000 Hilo

1984 Maryknoll vs. 1993 Kaimuki

1961 Saint Louis vs. 2009 Kailua

1958 St. Josephs vs. 2012 Kalaheo

1987 University vs. 1990 Punahou

1974 Punahou vs. 2003 Iolani

1971 Radford vs. 2006 Iolani

1966 Saint Louis vs. 2011 Kamehameha

1979 Punahou vs. 1998 Iolani

1982 Kailua vs. 1995 Kalaheo

1963 Kamehameha vs. 2007 McKinley

1959 Farrington vs. 2011 Farrington

1986 Saint Louis vs. 1991 Hilo

1975 Punahou vs. 2002 Iolani

1970 Punahou vs. 2007 Kaimuki

1967 Saint Louis vs. 2010 Iolani

1978 University vs. 1999 Punahou

1983 Iolani vs. 1994 Iolani

1962 Kamehameha vs. 2008 Farrington


  1. Jim September 25, 2013 7:07 pm

    Looking forward to results
    68 St. Louis 3 starters named ILH MVP
    Nicholson 66, Dunnam 67& Frank 68
    May not win it all but good trivia question

  2. Jerry Campany September 25, 2013 7:18 pm

    Sorry, but this ended during the summer. 1999 Punahou beat 1967 Saint Louis handily in the final with 70 percent of the vote.

    I was rooting for the Crusaders, though. I think the link to the full bracket is above if you click it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email