ILH coaches select ‘Iolani’s Mann as best player

'Iolani's Robby Mann was voted the ILH boys basketball most valuable player by league coaches.
‘Iolani’s Robby Mann was voted the ILH boys basketball most valuable player by league coaches.

It turns out the ILH and Honolulu Star-Advertiser differ on who the best player in the league was this year. ILH coaches voted ‘Iolani’s Robby Mann as the ILH boys basketball player of the year. The complete All-ILH teams were released Monday, a day after the Star-Advertiser selected ‘Iolani junior Hugh Hogland as its player of the year with Mann finishing third in the voting. The complete teams are below:

Division I

Most valuable player—Robby Mann, Sr, ‘Iolani
Coach of the year—Darren Matsuda, Punahou
Hugh Hogland, Jr, ‘Iolani
Kaeler Kahana, Sr, Kamehameha
Justin Daise, Sr, Mid-Pacific
Akahi Troske, Sr, Punahou
Jaymason Nunuha, Jr, Saint Louis
Zachary Gelacio, Sr, ‘Iolani
Kobe Young, So, Kamehameha
Brian Washington, So, Maryknoll
Christopher Kobayashi, Jr, Punahou
Tristan Nichols, Sr, Saint Louis
Honorable Mention
‘Iolani: Nicholas Kennedy; Helam Baldomero
Kamehameha: Jayden Zarriello
Maryknoll: Hayato Kamata
Mid-Pacific: Zion Shepherd
Punahou: Jared Lum, Zayne Chong
Saint Louis: Isaac Slade-Matautia, Noa Purcell

Division II

Most valuable player—Supilani Mailei, Jr, St. Francis
Coach of the year—Kenneth Powell, Le Jardin
Micah Mitchell, So, Hawaii Baptist
Jerry Lawson, Jr, Le Jardin
Kameron Ng, Fr, St. Francis
Anson Canencia, Sr, University
Ryan Hobus, Sr, University
Shaun Apiki, Jr, Damien
Kolin Galdiano, So, Damien
Aaron Leong, Sr, Hanalani
Mitchell Hashimoto, Sr, Le Jardin
Dominic Venezia, Jr, Le Jardin
Honorable mention
Christian Academy: Frederick Harris III
Damien: Storm Maldonaldo, Jayvee Quines
Hanalani: Jesse Leaman, Zane Pantil
Hawaii Baptist: Ty Minatoya, Kellen Takatsuka, Maxwell Weimken
St. Francis: Micah Kalei, Noah Kurosawa, Boris Vukovic

Division III

Co-most valuable players—AJ Ulufale, So, Assets; Mana Kaululaau, Sr, Island Pacific
Coach of the year—Ronald Bass, Damien
Trevor Middleton, Jr, Assets
Jared Miller, Sr, Damien
Reid Kim, Jr, Hawaiian Mission
Micaiah Lum, Sr, Island Pacific
Keanu Ciskowsky, Sr, Lanakila Baptist
Jerrold Mariano, Sr, Lanakila Baptist
Honorable mention
Assets: David Zimmerman
Hawaiian Mission: Fisher Yu
Lanakila Baptist: Joshua Carlton, Geo Julian

Division I-AA

Most valuable player—Daniel Ota, Sr, Punahou
Coach of the year—Gary Pacarro, Punahou
Conor Hannum, Sr, ‘Iolani
Dane Sakamoto, Sr, Kamehameha
Francis Gora, Jr, Kamehameha
David Whittaker, Jr, Punahou
Rayson Canencia, Sr, Saint Louis
Cade Pedro, Sr, Kamehameha
Dane Blake, Sr, Punahou
Todd Gruebner, Sr, Punahou
Christopher Hirata, Sr, Punahou
Ronson Timbreza, Sr, Saint Louis
Honorable mention
‘Iolani: Kaishu Mason, Carter Lau
Kamehameha: Joseph Almeida, Kanoa Gilliland
Maryknoll: Jerric Hays, Joseph Paragas, Ryan Shin
Saint Louis: Ikaia Bernardino


  1. ILH Observer March 7, 2016 1:25 pm

    I don’t agree with these choices at all. First of all picking Daise over Nichols is utterly absurd. Stl was in the lead of the ILH for most of the season while MPI found their usually last place spot. Nichols was a big reason why. Next, not having Lum from Punahou on either the first or second team is very curious. When he got hurt, also coincided with Punahou going on their 3-4 game losing streak. The kid guards the best player, does all the dirty work, and does it all for that team.

    Matsuda winning also makes me scratch my head.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email