Yau’s air riflery mark still safe

Justin Pascua of Kalaheo and Kailua's Lauren Kadooka took home the big trophies today. Jason Kaneshiro / Star-Advertiser
Justin Pascua of Kalaheo and Kailua’s Lauren Kadooka took home the big trophies today. Jason Kaneshiro / Star-Advertiser

Kalaheo’s Justin Pascua Lauren Kadooka of Kailua took individual titles at the Civilian Marksmanship Program / HHSAA Air Riflery Championships at Blaidell Arena.

Vicci Yau of Punahou holds the highest score in the state championships.
Vicci Yau of Punahou holds the highest score in the state championships.

The results can be found here: http://www.orionresults.com/team/MatchPage.aspx?MatchID=1.2773.694248072.0

Kailua’s Lauren Kadooka led all qualifiers in the morning with a 551 score and 20 bulls-eyes thanks to a stellar prone score of 196. She then beat all comers in the finals to take the title with a 640 score. Kadooka’s qualifying score is the fourth-highest score by a girl in the event’s history. Only six others have broken the 550 mark. The boys are currently on the range gunning for Yau’s mark or at least Kenneth Tong’s boys record of 553.

Kadooka finished 19th last year. Her 10-point margin of victory this year would be second all-time behind Vicci Yau’s 17-point win in 2002, but this is the first year of the finals so the scoring is skewed.

Yau is one of four female shooters to earn a gold and silver in her short career and holds the state championship record with a 557 in 2002. The others to earn a siver and gold are Heather Horn of Punahou and Shannon Li and Deana Sin of Sacred Hearts. Clarissa Akana of Sacred Hearts is the only girl to take two golds.

Top 10 girls scores
2002: Vicci Yau, Punahou, 557
2008: Clarissa Akana, Sacred Hearts, 556
2008: Lauren Riford, Punahou, 555
2016: Lauren Kadooka, Kailua, 551
2014: Isabel Villanueva, St. Francis, 548
2009: Clarissa Akana, Sacred Hearts, 548
2013: Nadia Hata, Maryknoll, 548
2005: Simone Riford, Punahou,548
2014: Toni Silva, St. Francis, 545
2013: Toni Silva, St. Francis, 543
2013: Sara Tashima, Sacred Hearts, 543
2003: Deana Sin, Sacred Hearts, 543

Pascua’s qualifying score is the fourth-highest in history, and he came back in the afternoon to make it hold up for the highest total of the day at 641. Moanalua won the boys team title and Punahou took the girls team crown.

top 10 boys scores
1999: Kenneth Tong, Saint Louis, 553
2010: Keanu Paikai, Kamehameha, 552
2000: Ryan Tanoue, Saint Louis, 550
2016: Justin Pascua, Kapaheo, 549
2008: LeLan Aranaydo, Pearl City, 546
2011: Keanu Paikai, Kamehameha, 543
2003: Eric Okamoto, Saint Louis, 541
2002: Michael Tanoue, Saint Louis, 541
2005: Regan Ancheta, Waiakea, 540
2012: Gavin Au, Leilehua, 540
2014: Darren Nirei, Hawaii Baptist, 540
1999: Ryan Tanoue, Saint Louis, 540


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.