HHSAA state champions: Girls 1,600 relay

by Jerry Campany on May 8, 2014

Jill Carrier was on three different winning relay teams for Punahou in the 1980s.

Jill Carrier was on three different winning relay teams for Punahou in the 1980s.

The Star-Advertiser has tried to compile lists of each event winner in the history of the HHSAA track and field championships. Inevitably, some information is incomplete, especially concerning individuals on relay teams. If you have any corrections, please comment at the bottom of this post and I will get to them as soon as I can. Without Doug Kilpatrick there would be few names in here, spread the word and help us fill out this imformation.

These are only performances in the final day of the state track and field championships each year, records can be broken in trials, but those are not reflected anywhere except for in the state meet record book. The lines at the top of these lists are those records, FAT is computer time, H is hand-held and WA denotes wind-aided.

Record: 2012Iolani03:57.5Breanne BallAlyssa KimDaisy PascuaAbrianna Johnson-Edwards
2014Campbell3:58.69Jade SavaiigaeaShatres Ah NeeKameron SmithTristen Dulay
2013Punahou04:01.1Kailey TotherowElli BradyKylie ChunMackenzie Feldman
2012Iolani03:57.5Breanne BallAlyssa KimDaisy PascuaAbrianna Johnson-Edwards
2011Seabury Hall04:00.3Ayanna WatendeLea LundbladDylan RossKailea Tracey-Visintainer
2010Punahou04:00.1Julia BrandKyleigh MannLahaina ZollerAshley Satterwhite
2009King Kekaulike04:02.8Sophia FreemanBianca RajanBailey MassenburgMaya Palaroan
2008Punahou04:01.4Sydney MeheulaJuliana BrownMari CarmichaelLahaina Zoller
2007Punahou04:03.7Kim CulverMarisa Schoen
2006Punahou04:05.7Alexa UntermanStephanie RatteKim CulverMarisa Schoen
2005Punahou04:02.0Samantha CabrerosKim CulverStephanie RatteMarisa Schoen
2004Kamehameha04:08.1Kauiilikea KahanaoiAndrea AndrewsMay CoelhoHealani Leite-Ah Yo
2003Punahou04:05.8Kelly KalapaAshley CollinsPippa McadonaldCarly Killiam
2002Iolani04:01.7Jessika NgirblekuuChristi MorrisseyKarlyn YoungLauran Dignam
2001King Kekaulike04:06.3
2000Mililani04:01.2Kelsi KojimaMichelle MurphyCherina TuckerVera Simms
1999Punahou04:00.5Jana YeeSara YapCarolyn BergerEri Macdonald
1998Punahou04:06.9Nicole AltmanChristiane Connors
Victoria ChangEri Macdonald
1997Punahou04:03.3Victoria ChangTracey RohrerChristianne ConnorsEri Macdonald
1996Punahou04:03.4Christianne ConnorsMarissa FryAishah ValenciaEri Macdonald
1995Hawaii Prep04:10.1
1994Kalaheo04:06.7Carissima NigrelliMagdalena PaszteAnna NeubauerMalgorzata Biela
1993Kalaheo04:10.6Kris HarkeyCara RenfroeCarissima NigrelliJen Lau
1992Mililani04:14.6listed but 3 are illegibleDanielle Wataoka
1991Moanalua04:13.7Sonya ThomanMitzi NyquistMonica BlandMelissa Jacobs
1990Kaiser04:04.1Erin HamiltonKaren MalinaKrista NewhardTasha Bankett
1989Punahou04:04.2Jill CarrierKara BrownKerri TingHilary Scott
1988Punahou04:08.2Jill CarrierKerri TingRowena OlsonTana Gerimonte
1987Punahou04:05.7Amy HalletJacinda EliasKristi AllenJill Carrier
1986Mililani04:09.8Suzanne BurnsJennifer FernandezLorene RodriguezDiane Ota
1985Punahou04:07.1Amy HalletJacinda EliasKristin LarsonKristi Allen
1984Punahou04:08.9Rae StigerKim StonerKirstin LarsonKaren Phillips
1983Radford04:06.9Maxine JarvisLena BrownKaren MorantNomia Briones
1982Punahou04:09.5Susan PattersonSusie WellsGail StringerKimber Pennington
4x440 - mile relay
1979Radford04:05.9Elizabeth BunchO'BrienMaxwellWitt
1978Radford04:06.6Judy PrienElizabeth BunchDenise ParkerTammy Neesley
1977Moanalua04:04.5Debra MaxwellLaura LoneskiDanielle HubolyAudrey Green
1976Kamehameha04:08.8Laurie MurakamiCharlene KahuanuiLeslie MurakamiGail Murakami
1975Kamehameha04:08.0Charlene KahuanuiMalia KamakaGail MurakamiLaurie Murakami
1974Kaiser04:08.2Cheryl Grimm
1973Radford04:10.0Mary Ann BurkLaura WongPaula DavisBrenda Berliner
1972Kailua04:13.6Linda AxtellSarah BanksJudy EldredgeColleen Nevius

{ 4 comments… read them below or add one }

Mike Rohrer May 12, 2014 at 11:47 am

To fill in your blank….

The Punahou girls 1600 meter relay team that won the state championship in 1997 was comprised of Christianne Connors, Victoria Chang, Tracey Rohrer (my daughter), and Eri MacDonald. Their time was the then state meet record–which lasted two years until Eri anchored the team in 1999.

Mike Rohrer

Mike Rohrer May 13, 2014 at 10:22 am

Evidence for my earlier comment about the composition of the 1997 state championship girls 1600 meter relay team can be fournd here: http://www.kautech.com/results/hhsaa1999.htm

The Punahou girls from 1997 are listed as the record holders, as follows:

Record: Victoria Chang, Tracy Rohrer, Christianna Connors, Eri MacDonald
Punahou 4:03.32 1997

My daughter’s name is spelled “Tracey,” and I believe it’s Christianne Connors.

Mike Rohrer

Jerry Campany May 13, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Thanks Mike, it has been fixed.

Mike Rohrer May 14, 2014 at 10:59 am

Thank you, Jerry. And, if you can spell my daughter’s name as TRACEY, that would be great. Mike

Leave a Comment

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiwarriorworld@staradvertiser.com.


Previous post:

Next post: