Latest news

Five records fall at ILH swim championships

By Jerry Campany on January 29, 2017

MJ Mao led an impressive record haul at the ILH Swimming and Diving championships at Punahou on Saturday, writing his name on the all time list four times to give him a total of five. Mao took part in the 200 medley relay, and 400 free relay on Saturday, both of them league records. He also broke individual records in the 100 breast, and 200 IM to go with the record he set in the 100 fly last year. Here […]

Hwang nets 10 career golds, sets record twice

By Nick Abramo on January 28, 2017

Kalani’s DongJin Hwang finished his remarkable swimming career with two more gold medals at the Oahu Interscholastic Association championships Saturday at Veterans Memorial Aquatic Complex. All told, Hwang has 10 total gold medals in his collection. Hwang also topped his 500-yard freestyle record twice over the weekend. In Friday’s trials, he covered the distance in 4 minutes, 36.58 seconds to break the mark of 4:37.17 he set last year. Then, on Saturday, Hwang, who says he goes by DJ, blazed […]

Retired AD helped Kaiser to Saturday’s title

By Nick Abramo on January 28, 2017

Ted Fukushima retired as athletic director at Kaiser in 1990, but a decision he made a long time ago helped the Cougars’ girls swimming and diving team win the Oahu Interscholastic Association championship Saturday. Kaiser scored 313 points, 29 more than rival Kalani. Fifty of the Cougars’ points came from diving, and as coach Asa Tanaka pointed out, Kaiser is the only OIA school with a diving board. “Through attrition, other schools through the years had to get rid of […]

Roosevelt boys rewrite OIA swim record books

By Jerry Campany on January 28, 2017

The seniors on the Roosevelt boys swim team went out with a bang. Of the 18 gold medals up for grabs at the OIA Swimming and Diving championships on Saturday, the Rough Riders won 16 of them to run away from the team title. Joseph Ahia led the way with three gold medals and league records in each. He was joined by fellow seniors Jun Yueb Yoon (four golds), Jonathan Oba (four), Alex Croll (two), Shawn Saffery (one) and Jacob […]

Kaiser girls take eighth straight OIA swim title

By Jerry Campany on January 28, 2017

The Kaiser swimming dynasty rolls on. The Cougars girls team won its eighth straight OIA championship on Saturday, getting what their coach called a total team effort. Mari Yasumi and Jill Chaffee were the only Kaiser girls to win individual golds, the same number they had in last year’s victory. This edition of Cougars don’t have a dominator like Corrine Shigeta or Kira Fox, just a group of girls who squeeze every point out of their bodies. Here is a […]

Punahou girls strong at ILH swim trials

By Jerry Campany on January 27, 2017

A trio of Punahou swimmers doubled up at the ILH trials at Punahou on Friday night, paving the way for another league title. Maddie Balish qualified first in the 200 freestyle to beat fellow state champions Cagla Brennan of Iolani and Pac-Five’s Le Grand Pound then came in first in the 100 breaststroke. Balish holds the ILH championship record in that event. Fellow Buffanblu state champion Lia Foster was first in the 200 IM and 100 back stroke. She holds […]

Kalani’s Hwang chasing OIA history

By Jerry Campany on January 27, 2017

Kalani swimmer Dongjin Hwang has a state gold medal to defend, but first he has another little bit of history to tackle. Hwang, the reigning state champion in the 500 freestyle and the only OIA boy to win a state event last year, is expected to jump into the pool for the OIA championships at Central Oahu Regional Park looking to add to his impressive haul. Hwang has earned eight gold medals in the league championship over the years, grabbing […]

Pound takes down fellow state champs

By Jerry Campany on January 22, 2017

LeGrand Pound of Sacred Hearts is getting her speed back. Pound, a junior with four state swimming golds to her credit, beat some fellow state champions in the ILH’s meet at ‘Iolani on Friday. Pound started with a win over ‘Iolani’s Cagla Brennan and Punahou’s Maddie Balish in the 200 freestyle, swimming the distance in 1:57.25. Brennan, a senior, had a 1:58.74 and Balish went 2:02.03. Brennan is the reigning state champ in the 500 free and Balish has collected […]