Boys water polo

Latest news

Cole, Lileikis power Punahou water polo win

By Nick Abramo on October 1, 2015

Schuyler Cole and Aukai Lileikis scored three goals apiece in Punahou’s 14-1 victory over Kamehameha last Friday in an Interscholastic League of Honolulu Division I match at the Buffanblu’s pool. In an ILH D-II match on Friday at Punahou,the Buffanblu topped the Warriors 12-2. Results follow. ILH boys water polo Friday, Sept. 25 at Punahou Division I Punahou 14, Kamehameha 1 Goal scorers—Kamehameha: Ke‘ea Lum. Punahou: Schuyler Cole 3, Aukai Lileikis 3, Yuki Saito 2, Ethan Walker 2,, Elliot Shibata, Zachary Lietzke, Kekoa Vieira, Jake Gaughan. Division II Punahou 12 Kamehameha 2 Goal scorers—Kamehameha: Hulu Nunokawa, Keala Alcon. Punahou: Noah Weldon 4, Ben Weldon 3, Jameson McKibbon, Luke Boyer, John Van Dyke, Jesse Brodkin, Elijah Muzzi.

Weldon leads Punahou past Le Jardin

By Nick Abramo on September 14, 2015

Ben Weldon scored four goals and Jameson McKibbin added three to lead host Punahou to a 10-1 Division II boys water polo victory over Le Jardin on Friday. The Division I boys match between the two teams was postponed due to lightning and was rescheduled for Wednesday at 6 p.m. Bryce Meichtry scored twice for the Buffanblu and Noah Weldon notched one goal. Grant Schaefer scored the Bulldogs’ only goal. Other recent ILH scores follow. Tuesday, Sept. 8 Varsity I >> At Punahou 18, ‘Iolani 3 Leading scorers—Punahou: Aukai Lileikis (5), Ethan Walter (3), Ward Weldon (2), Yuki Saito (2), Kekoa Viera (2). ‘Iolani: Kenny McKinley (3). Varsity II >> At Punahou 11, ‘Iolani 9 Leading scorers—Punahou: Jameson McKibbin (3), […]

‘Iolani goes back-to-back

By Billy Hull on November 5, 2014

For the first time since the early 1970’s, ‘Iolani has repeated as ILH boys water polo champions. The Raiders defeated Punahou 9-7 in the winner-take-all final on Monday after the Buffanblu forced a tiebreaker with a win in the postseason tournament. Danny Leong, Hunter Manson, Scotty Wo and Aaron Yonamine all scored two goals each with Trevyn Maruyama adding one. Yuki Saito scored a game-high four goals for the Buffanblu with Aukai Lilikeas adding two and Sam Sutherland scoring once for Punahou. The Raiders hadn’t won consecutive ILH titles in boys water polo since 1971 and 1972. It was their sixth ILH title in the last 42 seasons since longtime Punahou coach Ken Smith began his tenure. “The boys work […]

Punahou, ‘Iolani to meet for ILH water polo title

By Nick Abramo on October 30, 2014

Punahou topped ‘Iolani 12-9 to capture the ILH boys postseason water polo tournament Thursday night at Punahou School. Kaiko Manson and Yuki Saito scored goals each to lead the winning attack. By virtue of its tournament victory, the Buffanblu play the Raiders, the ILH regular-season champions, in the overall title match on Monday at ‘Iolani. Le Jardin beat Kamehameha in the third-place match, 9-8. ILH postseason tournament Championship match Puahou 12, ‘Iolani 9 Goal scorers—Punahou: Kaiko Manson (3), Yuki Saito (3), Mason Comerford (2), Aukai Lileikis (2), Kekoa Vierra, Ward Weldon. ‘Iolani: Danny Leong (4), Hunter Manson (4), Scott Wo. Third-place match Le Jardin 9, Kamehameha 8 Goal Scorers—Le Jardin: Malale Wilcox (3), Jacob Eng (3), Chad Derosier (2), Tristan […]

Raiders, Buffanblu get to water polo tourney final

By Nick Abramo on October 30, 2014

‘Iolani and Punahou advanced to the ILH boys water polo postseason tournament final by winning matches at Punahou on Tuesday. The Raiders topped Le Jardin 11-7, and the Buffanblu beat Kamehameha 9-3. Scott Wo scored five goals to lead ‘Iolani. Aukai Lileikis spearheaded the Punahou attack with four goals. The final is Thursday at 6:30 p.m. at Punahou. ‘Iolani 11, Le Jardin 7 Goal scorers—‘Iolani: Scott Wo (5), Danny Leong (2), Trevyn Maruyama (2), Struan Bowers, Dillon Waidyatellikai. Le Jardin: Chad Derosier (4), Josh Bittick (3). Punahou 9, Kamehameha 3 Goal scorers—Punahou: Aukai Lileikis (4), Yuki Saito (2), Kaiko Manson, Kekoa Viera, Ward Weldon. Kamehameha: Kanoa Kaleoaloha, Da

Punahou, ‘Iolani win water polo matches

By Hawaii Prep World on September 20, 2013

Noah Deer scored five goals and Aukai Lileikis added four goals to lead Punahou to a 14-4 win over Kamehameha in an Interscholastic League of Honolulu boys water polo match on Friday. Sam Sutherland had three goals for the host Buffanblu. Patrick Delos Santos and Kanoa Kalealoha had two goals each for Kamehameha. At ‘Iolani Michael Chen, Trevyn Maruyama, and Dillon Waidyatilleka scored four goals each to lead the host Raiders to a 23-2 win over Pac-Five. William Ashford and Aukai Haines scored a goal apiece in the loss. Division II Mala‘e Wilcox and Nick Zachmeier scored three goals each to help Le Jardin beat ‘Iolani 13-4 in a Division II match. Also in Division II, Punahou beat Kamehameha 10-2. Robert […]